Feature, News, Reviews

Jade Imagine Announce New Album “Cold Memory” due October 21st via Marathon Artists & Share New Single

August 4, 2022
Photo credit: Hugo Kohler

Jade Imagine Announce New Album “Cold Memory” due October 21st via Marathon Artists

& Share New Single

Melbourne three-piece Jade Imagine return with sophomore album ‘Cold Memory’ due October 21st via Marathon Artists. Today the band are sharing the title-track and lead single online now.

Led by Jade McInally, Jade Imagine produced the album ‘Cold Memory’ with the theme of warm hugs in mind and this shows throughout this indie gem of an album. 

Speaking about the track, the band said “Cold Memory was written in Killarney after a freezing cold mid-winter swim in the southern ocean. It was inspired by the coastal bumpy drive we took to the beach and the rush of adrenaline after swimming, and then being completely ruined by march flies that were waiting to bite us on the beach after swimming. 

What started as a very simple almost childlike joke idea for a song became something far richer, full of light and shade.. And now I feel it represents so much, which is why we named the album after the song too. I love how songs can gain more and more meaning over time; the memory of the coldness we’ve been through over the past couple years & depending on one another when life feels dark. 

This song features a sample we created with piano and SPD percussion. One of my fave parts about the song is how the drums and bass parts become one big formidable train powering through the song. A week before we had to send the song to get mastered, Tim sent me a version with vocoder on the final chorus.”

Jade Imagine immediately propels the audience into this ferocious, buoyant atmosphere. Boisterous percussive hits and this gritty rhythm showcase the intoxicating ambiance that grows and intensifies throughout. Whilst the riveting landscape develops, the delicate vocal harmonies lace the vision with intimate complexities, adding this raw and immersive lyrical journey to flourish amongst the expressive tones and dynamic shifts. Focusing on the compelling journey of the words and the affectionate cadence that resonates from the melodies throughout.

Cold Memory” is a phenomenal title track to capture the range of this formidable outfit, the emotional prosperity that plays from every attribute allows this outfit to connect with any listener that embraces the ambitious world. Cold Memory is the sophomore album from Jade Imagine. Written and recorded between Melbourne, Warrnambool and Fremantle, Western Australia, Cold Memory offers ten songs that explore notions of connection – to self, to nature, and to others. Jade Imagine are Tim Harvey, Madeline Lo-Booth and Jade McInally with Marcel Tussie (Stella Donnely, Rolling Blackouts C.F) on drum duties for the recording. Together, the band offer a stunningly diverse collection of modern classics, blending the familiar with the fresh. 
The writing process for Cold Memory began in early 2020, when the band returned home to Melbourne, Australia after an international tour with Australian psych outfit POND. After a period of intense work and travel, McInally was forced to slow down and make careful decisions around where her energy was best placed, to try and keep things simple and manageable. Ironically, the production of Cold Memory was anything but simple – on a writer’s retreat away, for example, McInally’s bedroom was overtaken by a family of bats – and then came the global pandemic. Moving through these sudden and almost cinematic complications forced the band to simplify, and in doing so, allowed them to craft an essential, intimate portrait of connection. 

Cold Memory, the album’s title track, offers a peek into life’s most visceral moments. It was written by McInally following a frigid mid-winter swim with friends in the salty waters of Victorian coastal town Killarney. The track perfectly moves between rhythmic, slightly uneasy verses before it explodes into a synth heavy, pop-y chorus – lush and evocative. As Cold Memory progresses, we find love songs to friends, rich with intensity and sentiment. Instinct That I Wanna Know is a delicious slice of art pop, brilliantly fusing guitar melodies with electronic dance energy, bringing to mind elements of 2000’s club music, Charlotte Gainsbourg’s ‘Deadly Valentine’ and Daft Punk. Instinct That I Wanna Know is an ode to ESP – feeling spiritually in sync with those closest to you. Album closer Lines was written intimately, jammed out by the band in a living room – the fireplace in the corner. On Cold Memory, it is clear that there is strength in simplicity.
Before founding Jade Imagine, front-person and key songwriter Jade McInally had been a stalwart of the indie scene for more than a decade. After winding her way to Melbourne from somewhere consistently sunny, McInally cut her live-performer teeth with her own electronic project Tantrums, before playing in the bands of local favourites Jess Cornelius (Teeth and Tongue) and Jess Ribeiro. After signing with Milk! Records, Jade Imagine’s debut EP ‘What the Fuck Was I Thinking’ was released in April 2017. Rolling Stone Australia described the lo-fi gem ‘Stay Awake’, one of the EP’s singles, as “a shimmering summer-invite track”, its lowkey, lethargic, insomniac energy perfect for an impossibly hot afternoon.

Following the release of the EP, Jade Imagine secured numerous incredible support slots, including shows with 80s royalty The Pretenders (UK), Angel Olsen (US), Benjamin Booker (US), Alvvays (US), Lucy Dacus (US), Stella Donnelly, Julia Jacklin and Phantastic Ferniture. In March 2018 the band travelled to the US to showcase at the prestigious SXSW music conference in Austin, as well as playing key shows in Los Angeles and New York City. The band have toured the UK with Julia Jacklin (2018) and Pond (2019).
Jade Imagine released their debut album ‘Basic Love’ in August 2019, released on Milk! Records AU/NZ and Marathon Artists for Rest of World. Basic Love received Album Of The Week on Triple R Radio (VIC), The Edge Radio (TAS), and Radio Adelaide (SA), received glowing reviews from The Australian to The Big Issue, and is long-listed for the prestigious AMP Album prize.

Cold Memory track list:
1. I Guess We’ll Just Wait
2. Instinct That I Wanna Know
3. Back And Forth
4. Cold Memory 
5. Home
6. Down To Us
7. Get Light
8. Stay In Ur Zone
9. Grow Taller (feat. Nile Marr)
10. Lines


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.