Feature, News, Reviews

Pale Blue Eyes Share New Single “Little Gem” – Debut Album out September 2nd

August 3, 2022
credit Honey Davis Wilkinson

Pale Blue Eyes

Share “Little Gem”

Debut album Souvenirs due September 2, 2022
Out via Full Time Hobby

Following the announcement of their debut album Souvenirs, coming out on September 2 via Full Time Hobby (Dana Gavanski, Silverbacks), Devon’s Pale Blue Eyes has shared a new track from the record. Listen to the pop perfection of “Little Gem”https://fulltimehobby.ffm.to/pbesouvenirs.OPR 

The accompanying video, directed by Dylan Friese-Green and Aubrey Simpson, captures the band on the road, crammed into a Nissan Micra, cruising through the English countryside.

Speaking of the track, the band said “Little Gem is about relationships and gardening. We call Lucy [PBE drums and synths] The Emo Gardener. She’d painstakingly cultivate her little greenhouse only to be left distraught when the tomatoes got blight – swearing and weeping by the compost heap. The song is a metaphor for our band’s journey. It’s about breaking down, then finding a way around – growing new tunes, cultivating them and sometimes having to start again from scratch.”

It’s the year of Pale Blue Eyes, they are about to release one remarkable and influential debut record but until then we can embrace the incredible array of singles so far shared taken from the forthcoming collection. “Little Gem” emerges with this brooding, insatiable bass joined with the swirling synth and complex nature of the tonality. Delicate harmonies add this immersive influx and together every attribute collides to create this enveloping and lasting atmosphere. This outfit has this impressive talent to create rich textures that emit a feeling of warmth, security, and elements of nostalgia, which leads to ultimately creating such expressive arrangements filled with this bountiful vibe. Another soaring and sweet ensemble with a euphoric journey from start to finish.

Souvenirs was recorded in PBE’s own Penquit Mill studio, just south of Dartmoor, the studio having been funded by a bank loan and endless part-time jobs. PBE are the couple Lucy and Matt Board, crucially aided by Motown-mad bassist Aubrey Simpson. Matt (vocals/guitar) and Lucy (drums/electronics) met at Dartington College of Arts in South Devon, a storied establishment that’s been enlivened over the years by people including Igor Stravinksy, Yul Brynner and John Cage. Lucy’s dissertation was titled “An Investigation into Sheffield’s Alternative Music Scene Between 1973 and 1978, with Particular Reference to Cabaret Voltaire.” The PBE album was mixed and mastered by Dean Honer (Eccentronic Research Council, Moonlandingz). Dean has been an integral part of Sheffield’s electronic scene and has mixed artists including Róisín Murphy, The Human League and Add N To (X).

PBE’s 2021 self-released debut single Motionless/Chelsea was given much praise. MOJO: “A shimmering Kraut-rail trip to Asgard.” Louder Than War: “Astonishing… conducting Neu! on a ride to the far pop pavilions.” Follow-up single “TV Flicker” was playlisted at BBC 6 Music. Next release “Globe” continued the PBE singles trajectory, with a track named after a shared student house, in Totnes in Devon. Globe Cottage had previously been a pub, called The Globe.

The PBE album brims with a kind of elective positivity, as made clear when Matt lists the album’s themes: “Embracing good times, losing yourself in a moment of bliss when the world around you is going to shit… Processing and understanding loss and grief and using music as a vehicle to move on… Fighting against the mundane and not giving up on dreams… The pure joy of a good night out or a moment of being moved by a band or a piece of artwork or a great film… Making the most of the time you have.” 

The album’s sweeping synth lines and metronomic guitar riffs give Souvenirs a transportive, mind-shifting mood – something that’s been dubbed “Devon cream-adelica”. Pale Blue Eyes look forward to taking their South West / South Yorks fusion across the land and around the world.

Souvenirs is out 2 Sept on CD, eco-mix vinyl, pale blue vinyl (UK indie store exclusive) and digital. Pre-order here: https://fulltimehobby.ffm.to/pbesouvenirs.OPR 

Pale Blue Eyes are playing UK festivals across the summer. They are delighted to be supporting the esteemed Public Service Broadcasting at the following UK dates in October. Tour info here; https://fulltimehobby.co.uk/artist/pale-blue-eyes 

UK tour dates
04 Aug 2022 – Oxfordshire, Wilderness Festival
28 Aug 2022 – Leeds, This Must Be the Place festival

07 Sep 2022 – Manchester, Retro
08 Sep 2022 – London Paper, Dress Vintage
09 Sep 2022 – Bristol, Crofters Rights
10 Sep 2022 – Reading, Down at the Abbey festival

01 Oct 2022 – Warwick, Arts Centre
02 Oct 2022 – Norwich, UEA
03 Oct 2022 – Sunderland, Fire Station
04 Oct 2022 – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
06 Oct 2022 – Inverness, Ironworks
07 Oct 2022 – Keele, University
08 Oct 2022 – Liverpool, Olympia
09 Oct 2022 – Sheffield, Academy
11 Oct 2022 – Leicester, Academy
12 Oct 2022 – Swansea, Brangwyn Hall
13 Oct 2022 – London, Troxy
15 Oct 2022 – Margate, Dreamland
16 Oct 2022 – Oxford, New Theatre
17 Oct 2022 – Bournemouth, Academy 


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.