News, Reviews

Prudence (Olivia from The Dø) Announces New Album + Shares New Single ‘Here & Now”

May 9, 2021
Enzo Orlando




Olivia Merilahti (formerly of Victoire-winning group The Dø) releases new single ‘Here & Now’. It’s the latest to be lifted from her forthcoming debut solo album under the alias Prudence, Beginnings, due out on May, 28 2021 via RCA France. The muscular, melodic ‘Here & Now’ – produced by M.I.A.-collaborator Surkin (who’s also remixed the likes of Charli XCX and Foals) – is a celebration of the pursuit of bliss and living life in the moment.

The new single has a feel-good factor to it, found in the far-reaching vocal harmonies and the elevated pop complexities. This impulsive beat takes control of the ensemble and pushes the exploration further, whilst this core abundance of electronic elements start to shape the structure within the consistent layers and additional tweaks and hooks. The overall melody from Olivia just consumes you, the vocal range demonstrates this fearless approach and flawless execution.

Speaking about her new track, Prudence says; ‘Here and Now’ is a song about time, about moments of bliss. The lyrics were inspired by hours spent contemplating the ocean in all its moods, healing the wounds of the past (“feels just like a cure”). This track is also about transition, when it’s time to start a new chapter, with no regret. Basically a track that calls for transcendental meditation…

After nearly a decade of success as half of The Dø – who Billie Eilish recently cited as a key influence on her Apple podcast ‘Me & My Dad Radio’, and who made French chart history with their debut Mouthful as the first act to go #1 with an anglophone album release – French-Finnish Merilahti this year makes her full length debut as Prudence. The release of Beginnings in May will follow the success of Prudence’s critically acclaimed EP Be Water, which arrived in late 2020 alongside this performance for La Blogothèque.

Featuring wider co-production credits from Xavier of French touch royalty Justice, Stelios Phili (A$AP Ferg) and Maxime Le Guil (SoKo), Beginnings takes cues variously from female synth pioneers – particularly Suzanne Ciani – the scores of Hans Zimmer and Kraftwerk’s legacy to create a multi-dimensional pop album.

Beginnings Tracklisting

  1. Beginnings
  2. Good Friends
  3. More Love (Don’t Go Home)
  4. City On Fire
  5. Here & Now
  6. Offenses
  7. Pretty
  8. Adrenaline
  9. Playmate
  10. 10. Be Water
  11. 11. Manifesto (outro)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.