News, Reviews

M.Ward Shares New Track “too young to die” Featuring First Aid Kit – New Album Out This Friday

June 21, 2023


NEW TRACK ‘too young to die’ FEAT. FIRST AID KIT



M. Ward is sharing ‘too young to die‘ feat. First Aid Kit today, the final pre-release track from his upcoming album ‘Supernatural Thing’, out this Friday. In the song’s new video, Ward is a security guard working the graveyard shift who starts to see the ladies of First Aid Kit appear in his security camera’s video feed.  Watch below:

What a beautiful collaboration, the atmosphere so delicate and meaningful, exposed to showcase the emotion that is fuelled by the dual harmonies respectfully. M. Ward creates this lavish landscape that compels with such intent. A truly forceful creation in terms of the atmosphere carefully created, this collaboration exudes such vivid energy, truly moving.

First Aid Kit are sisters from Stockholm, and when they open their mouths, something amazing happens,” Ward said of working with them. “It was a great thrill to go to Stockholm and record a few songs there.  The sound from blood-related harmony singers is impossible to get any other way – The Everly Brothers, The Delmores, The Louvins, The Carters, The Söderbergs – all have the same kind of feeling in their vocals.”   

In addition to First Aid Kit, the album is filled with guest stars – Shovels & RopeScott McMickenNeko CaseJim James and others — who enliven the album with surprises. Eight of the album’s ten songs are Ward originals, but there is also an unusual Bowie choice, “I Can’t Give Everything Away” from Blackstar, and a live rendition of Daniel Johnston’s “Story of an Artist.” “Bowie and Johnston are constant sources of inspiration for me, have been for I don’t know how many years,” Ward offered.   

‘Supernatural Thing’ is M. Ward’s first new music in three years, but in 2020 M. Ward released two albums. On April’s ‘Migration Stories’, Ward was inspired by the immigration journeys he’d heard from friends or read about in newspapers, as well as what his own grandfather had to go through when immigrating to the US from Mexico. For the December album ‘Think of Spring’ he covered classic Billie Holiday tunes, as she is an artist he’s greatly inspired by. “Instead of the small jazz bands or orchestration she relied on, M. Ward pares the songs to just his voice and guitars, making them sound even starker than they once did,” said Rolling Stone.   

This Friday Ward will play a sold-out album release show at the Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery – his first headlining performance in Los Angeles in over 5 years. He will be joined by Jordan Hudson on drums, Mark Powers with percussion, and Arcellus Sykes on bass. This August he and the band will also join My Morning Jacket on the road for a select run of West coast dates and play some headlining dates. All upcoming shows are listed below.



17 October – Bristol, UK @ Strange Brew 

18 October – London, UK @ Bush Hall 

20 October – Paris, France @ Point Ephémère

Pre-order ‘Supernatural Thing’

1. lifeline
2. too young to die (feat. First Aid Kit)
3. supernatural thing
4. new kerrang (feat. Scott McMicken)
5. dedication hour (feat. Neko Case)
6. i can’t give everything away (feat. Jim James)
7. engine 5 (feat. First Aid Kit)
8. mr. dixon (feat. Shovels & Rope)
9. for good (feat. Kelly Pratt)
10. story of an artist

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.