CORDOVAS share new single “Talk To Me” taken from That Santa Fe Channel, due 10th August on ATO Records

August 3, 2018



“Are Taking Their Place Amongst The Musical Lineage Of Cosmic Country Greats” – Hear New Song “Talk To Me” Via Bruce Warren And NPR Music

ATO Records Debut ‘That Santa Fe Channel,’ Out August 10th, Is Produced By Milk Carton Kids’ Kenneth Pattengale


Cordovas will release their new album That Santa Fe Channel, produced by Milk Carton Kids Kenneth Pattengale, on ATO Records on August 10th.

Today, they share new song, “Talk To Me.” NPR World Café’s Bruce Warren says “East Nashville Americana rockers Cordovas are taking their place amongst the musical lineage of cosmic country greats like Gram Parsons, Americana poster kids Uncle Tupelo, the New Riders of the Purple Sage, and the early roots-rock of Little Feat.”  Listen below…


Prior to their current U.S. summer tour, Cordovas was out on a five-week European tour. In London, the band stopped by the famed Toe Rag Studios (where the White Stripes recorded Elephant), and taped a session. You can watch their pulsating cover of the Grateful Dead’s “Truckin’” here and That Santa Fe Channel lead single “This Town’s A Drag” here.

The band also stopped by Paste Magazine’s NYC studio this week to record a stripped down acoustic session that highlights the their incredible songwriting and harmonies, watch here.

Years before Cordovas’ formation, bandleader Joe Firstman traveled the country as a solo musician. Raised in North Carolina, he moved to Hollywood as a determined 20 year-old, signing a major-label deal with Atlantic Records. When a dizzying blur of acclaimed shows — including opening dates for Sheryl Crow and Willie Nelson — weren’t enough to satisfy the expectations of a big-budget record label, Firstman lost his contract and took a new job as music director on Last Call with Carson Daly. It was good work, with Firstman performing nightly alongside first-rate musicians like Thundercat and Kamasi Washington.

Cordovas are: bassist/vocalist Joe Firstman, drummer Graham Spillman, keyboardist Sevans Henderson, guitarist/vocalist Lucca Soria and guitarist/vocalist Toby Weaver.


Album Artwork:

1. This Town’s a Drag
2. Selfish Loner
3. Talk To Me
4. I’m The One Who Needs You Tonight
5. Frozen Rose
6. Santa Fe
7. Standin’ On The Porch
8. Your Town
9. Step-Back Red


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.