BOY HARSHER – Share 2nd track & video for “Country Girl” – ‘Country Girl’ EP to be released via Ascetic House Out Oct 13 (digital) / Oct 27 (12″ Vinyl)

September 21, 2017


– Share 2nd track & video for “Country Girl”
– ‘Country Girl’ EP to be released via Ascetic House
Out Oct 13 (digital) / Oct 27 (12″ Vinyl)

– More NA and EU tour dates announced

Massachusetts duo Boy Harsher have shared the second track and video to be taken from their forthcoming EP, ‘Country Girl’, out via Ascetic House (Marshstepper, Varg, Puce Mary, Helm, etc) on October 13th digitally and followed by 12” vinyl on October 27th. They have also added more live dates to their forthcoming European and North American tours.

The new video for the EP’s title track, “Country Girl”, was directed Boy Harsher’s Jae Matthews and explores a similar theme to that of the EP’s first video, “Motion” in following an unbeknown woman through her evening.

“We’ve never been interested in inserting ourselves in our videos. The songs are not always autobiographical”explains Matthews. “The narrative of the EP is from a woman’s perspective, and we wanted to explore that more through the videos.”

Boy Harsher is a dark electronic duo producing gritty techno beats infused with enigmatic vocals, creating a sound that is eerie, intense and compulsively danceable. Augustus Muller develops the underbelly of sound with minimal beats and grinding synths, where Jae Matthews whispers, screams and chants over the top. Together, the music created is somewhere between industrial, drone and confessional storytelling, capturing the duo’s background in film.

Country Girl features four brand new tracks and was written & recorded in Northampton, MA by Boy Harsher. The EP was produced by the band and Jordan Romero (Shy Violet, R&R Unlimited) in the summer of 2016. Maurizio Baggio (producer of The Soft Moon ‘Deeper’ and Merchandise ‘A Corpse Wired For Sound’) mixed & mastered the EP in early 2017. The artwork was designed by JS Aurelius (Destruction Unit, Marshstepper).

Boy Harsher tour dates: 

01 Chicago, IL – Cold Waves Fest
26 Somerville, MA – Once Lounge
27 Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus %
28 The Sound Hole – Philadelphia, PA *
29 DC9 – Washington, DC
30 Strange Matter – Richmond, VA
31 Chapel Hill, NC – Nightlight Bar
02 Pittsburgh, PA – Brillobox
03 Kingston, NY – BSP Kingston
05 Montreal, QC – Bar Le Ritz
11 Los Angeles, CA – Cold Waves Fest
17 Berlin, DE – Urban Spree
18 Wroclaw, PL – CRK
19 Moscow, RUS – JOY
20 Budapest, HU – Lärm
21 Wien, AT – Rhiz
22 Frankfurt , DE – Das Bett
23 Den Haag, NL – Het Magazijn
25 Melkweg, NL – Melkweg
27 London, UK – Shacklewell Arms
28 Newcastle, UK – Jumpin’ Jacks
29 Cardiff, UK – Buffalo
30 Lille, FR – BiPlan
01 Paris, FR – Tech Noire
02 Lyon, FR – Trokson
03 Grenoble, FR – Le Ciel
04 Turin, IT – Blah Blah
05 Bologna, IT – Freakout
07 Malta – Tigullio
08 Dresden, DE – Bunker
09 Prague, CZ – Underdogs
25 Seattle, WA – Barboza
26 Portland, OR – Tonic Lounge
27 San Francisco, CA – Elbo Room
28 Los Angeles, CA – The Echo
# w/ Drab Majesty, Pyramid Club
§ w/ Front 242
% w/ FlucT, Odonis Odonis
* w/ Dreamcrusher

Country Girl EP tracklist:
1. Motion
2. Country Girl
3. Underwater
4. Westerners

Country Girl EP artwork:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.