Feature, News, Reviews

Marnie Stern Returns With First Album in 10 Years -“The Comeback Kid” out 3rd November 2023 via Joyful Noise Recordings & Shares Lead Single “Plain Speak”

August 31, 2023
Photo Credit: Nick Johnson

Marnie Stern Returns With First Album in 10 Years

The Comeback Kid out 3rd November 2023
on Joyful Noise Recordings

Marnie Stern announces plans to release The Comeback Kid, the long-awaited new album due for release November 3rd, 2023 via Joyful Noise Recordings. Stern spoke with Stereogum for an interview just ahead of the announcement, which closely follows Stern’s recent one-off show opening for Les Savy Fav in New York City. Read the interview HERE.

It’s been a decade since we last heard new music from Marnie Stern, but when her guitar bursts in like a shower of stardust on The Comeback Kid, the follow-up to 2013’s The Chronicles of Marnia, it’s like no time has passed. The Comeback Kid is a statement of intent: “I can’t keep on moving backwards,” Stern repeats on the anthemic opening track and lead single “Plain Speak,” her fingers furiously tapping the fretboard as the song joyfully zips forward like a rocket hitting warp speed.

Marnie Stern shares: ‘Plain Speak’ keeps a positive attitude in the face of frustration. Keeping that hope alive is really the most difficult thing for me to do in life, so I try to do it as much as possible in my music. This song is a perfect example of that. Some of the lyrics are backwards, to keep the theme of feeling like you are moving backwards in a situation and no one else seems to give a shit but you!”

It’s been just over a decade since we last featured Marnie on the site, following a tour with Tera Melos and appearing on some of the best Exploding In Sound compilations. We are so thrilled for the explosive energy of Stern to be back in the limelight.

Back with this exhilarating ensemble, Marnie has just dropped one of the most impressive tracks of the year. “Plain Speak” immediately showcases this vast landscape, filled with infectious rhythms and complex layers. The looped lyrics of “I Can’t Keep On Moving Backwards” just hook the audience, repeated with clarity that this one line compliments the track to stand out as an anthem for so many. And Marnie mirrors this constant pattern rhythmically pushing back and forth throughout the sonically alluring atmosphere. The audience moves with Marnie, through this volatile vortex and vivid structure. A ferocious arrangement that proudly welcomes the rightful return of experimentation and melody.

Where has Stern been? She cops to having been lulled by the gentle rhythm of a nine-to-five job as the guitarist in The 8G Band on The Late Show with Seth Meyers; she’s also been raising two kids. But when it came time to start working on a new record, the ease with which she picked up right where she left off was surprising even to her. “I expected that all those years of playing other kinds of stuff would have influenced me—and it didn’t at all! I was fully back where I was before,” Stern says.

Make no mistake: this is no nostalgia trip. Stern continually pushes herself outside of her comfort zone throughout The Comeback Kid, including not leaning on the tapping technique that launched a thousand Eddie Van Halen comparisons. “Til It’s Over” is as straight-ahead an “alternative rock” song as Stern has ever made and there’s a cover of Ennio Morricone’s “Il Girotondo Della Note.” 

“It was so great to be able to start being myself again and when I would think, ‘Oh, is that too,too weird?’ I’d remember I’m allowed to do whatever I want! This is mine. It’s me,” says Stern of writing songs for The Comeback Kid. “I’m trying to go against the grain of this bullshit that when you get older, you lose your sense of taste. I want to empower people to not be so homogenous and go against the grain a little bit.”

Taking joy in your individuality is the message of The Comeback Kid, as is the realization that making music which truly reflects who you are in all your brightness and your weirdness is quite possibly the key to happiness. “This record is about reassuring yourself that happiness is not about what kind of things you have or how many things you have or what you don’t have—it’s about all the good things you do,” says Stern.

Pre-Order https://lnk.to/TheComebackKid

The Comeback Kid Tracklisting:
1. Plain Speak 
2. Believing Is Seeing 
3. The Natural 
4. Oh Are They 
5. Forward 
6. Working Memory 
7. Il Girotondo Della Note (Ennio Morricone cover)
8. Til It’s Over 
9. Nested 
10. Earth Eater 
11. Get It Good 
12. One And The Same


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.