Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Clementine Valentine Announce New Album “The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor” due August 25th via Flying Nun Records & Shares New Single & Video”Time and Tide”

July 4, 2023
Photo Credit: PICTVRE

CLEMENTINE VALENTINE – Announce new album ‘The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor’ due August 25th via Flying Nun
Share new single & video 
“Time and Tide”

Clementine Valentine, the art-pop duo from Aotearoa/New Zealand formerly known as Purple Pilgrims, announces their upcoming album, ‘The Coin that Broke the Fountain Floor‘, out August 25th via Flying Nun Records. The band are also sharing their new single & video “Time and Tide“.

Building upon the momentum of their captivating first single, “Endless Night”, the song captures those fleeting moments of letting go, free from overthinking and regret. Its ethereal and anthemic quality is propelled by the cascading string arrangements of Randall Dunn and the fervent drumming of Matt Chamberlain. 

Reflecting on “Time and Tide,” Clementine Valentine explains, “Without giving too much away, this song is a kind of mantra of radical acceptance. Our songs usually overflow with words and imagery, this one we consciously left open – you’re invited to fill the space in between.” 

The “Time and Tide” music video, directed by Auckland-based photographer and filmmaker Greta van der Star (known for her work with Kate Sylvester, Ingrid Starnes, Penny Sage), draws inspiration from the celebrated American artist and photographer Francesca Woodman. It artfully captures the emotions of isolation and confinement that emerged during the song’s creation amidst the Covid lockdown, portraying the essence of being confined within four walls and merging with them. 

From the dramatic opening of this release to your introduction to the evocative yet affectionate harmonies, the gliding passages and the resonating beats, prepare to be dazzled by one almighty journey. This new track conveys a truly moving essence that channels from the instrumentation to the audience, from the intimate lyrics to the deeply expressive orchestral structure. The soft yet sweeping harmonies pull the listener into their tracks and keep them fixated on the movement of this journey.

This dazzling composition conveys this immense hook which is so incredible, so powerful it ends up burrowing itself deep into the listener’s consciousness.

Sisters Clementine and Valentine Nixon draw inspiration from their nomadic family heritage, creating music that evokes contrasting moods: ancient and modern, paradise and isolation, beauty and brokenness, ritual and the present moment. 

Having grown up between New Zealand and Hong Kong, the sisters gained experience by performing in unconventional spaces and rogue music venues throughout Hong Kong’s abandoned industrial estates, captivating audiences with their blend of experimental noise and futuristic dream-pop as Purple Pilgrims.

The duo have since toured the world extensively alongside the likes of Ariel Pink, Aldous Harding, John Maus, and Weyes Blood. It’s a lifestyle embedded in their lineage; travelling musicians and performers go back hundreds of years on their maternal side (as documented on recordings such as The Travelling Stewarts, from 1968). As children, the sisters were taught to sing traditional balladry by their grandmother, daughter of revered Traveller musician Davie Stewart (later recorded by Alan Lomax).

While their earlier works were self-produced and released through underground labels, the sisters have honed their skills to create a more fully realised and sophisticated new sound. 

The Coin that Broke the Fountain Floor is a pivotal album in the creative evolution of sisters Clementine and Valentine Nixon, formerly known as Purple Pilgrims. It finds them leaning further than ever before into collaboration, folklore, poetry, and power. Their intertwined vocals reach for loftier, more operatic heights of pop and myth, heartbreak and desire, suffused with the spirit of storytelling heroines long lost to time. The album title alludes to the tipping point extremes of recent years, coloured by dreams crushing, wishes gathering, and an abundance of hope.The Coin that Broke the Fountain Floor sees the duo working alongside NY city producer Randall Dunn (Oneohtrix Point Never, Danny Elfman, Jim Jarmusch) and legendary drummer Matt Chamberlain (David Bowie, Lana Del Rey, Fiona Apple). Final audio finessing came courtesy of Brooklyn mastering engineer Heba Kadry (Bjork, Beach House, Slowdive). The results are regal and richly layered, softly orchestral yet lithe and shimmering.

The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor tracklist:
1. Gatekeeper
2. All I See
3. Time and Tide
4. The Understudy
5. Selenelion
6. The Rope
7. Endless Night
8. Actors Tears
9. All Yesterdays Flowers

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.