News, Reviews

Beach Fossils Announce New Album “Bunny” Out June 2nd on Bayonet & Share Lead Single “Don’t Fade Away”

March 11, 2023
Photo Credit: Sinna Nasseri

Beach Fossils announce new album Bunny 

 out June 2nd on Bayonet

Share Video For Lead Single “Don’t Fade Away”

Beach Fossils announce Bunny, their first studio album since 2017, out June 2nd on Bayonet. In conjunction with the announcement, they present its lead single/video, “Don’t Fade Away.” Throughout the last fifteen years, Beach Fossils have steadily earned their stature as one of the most definitive and enduring bands of the 2010s New York underground, consistently reaching new listeners as their sound has grown from the DIY solo project of Dustin Payseur to an influential four-piece dream pop band, self-produced, self-managed and self-released. Bunny represents strength through vulnerability.

“Sharpening their fidelity and dream-pop instincts on every successive release” (INTERVIEW), Bunny continues the stunning evolution of Beach Fossils’ sound, pulling elements from the jangly melancholy of What a Pleasure EP (2011), the gritty, post-punk inspired tracks from Clash the Truth (2013), and the lush arrangements of Somersault (2017). Inspired by the psych-pop of early Verve and Spiritualized albums and perennial influences like the Cure, Wire, the Byrds, and the Velvet Underground, Bunny was produced and recorded by Payseur himself, with Lars Stalfors (St. Vincent, Soccer Mommy, Lil Peep) mixing. Payseur remarks that in creating this album, a bigger emphasis was made for stronger attunement to pop structure. “When I wrote the first record, there were no choruses; it was instrumental guitar parts in between verses. This is the first record where I’ve consciously thought about writing a chorus.”  Throughout, he’s joined by core band members Tommy Davidson (guitar), Jack Doyle Smith (bass), and Anton Hochheim (drums).

From poignant words about a family member’s cancer battle and the joy of being a father, to small, but meaningful moments with friends, Bunny is the band’s most vivid, grounded and personal work to date. The songs reflect on depression, love, adventure, loss, mistakes, New York City, friendships coming and going — a mélange of granular pieces in the process of continuing to find yourself. Payseur’s collage-like lyrics communicate through tone and mood as much as narrative; New York poets like Frank O’Hara, Ted Berrigan, and Anne Waldman were on his desk, as was the Tao Te Ching.

The new single, “Don’t Fade Away,” is an instant earworm. The video, directed by Kevin Clark (Finneas, Flatbush Zombies), sees Payseur crooning across a beautiful array of late night backdrops, from elevator cabs to Los Angeles’ El Capitan Theater. Of the track, Payseur adds: “‘Don’t Fade Away’ is about missing old friends, being on tour, self-medicating, longing, anxiety, love, being an idiot, having fun, embracing your mistakes and keeping your spark.

The immediate tone draws your attention, hooked on the progressive build-up of the all-consuming atmosphere, it’s that standout tone that drives the journey and the intensity throughout the new release. The illustrious vocal melodies that sweep above the plentiful textures allow emotive peaks to rise to the release and further connect with the audience.

Revisiting our first introduction to this band in 2015, the powerful energy they burst onto the scene with, that energy is still very much present 8 years later, capturing that immense wealth of power with this refreshing nod found in their style throughout the latest release. Weaving affection into the grittier tones and striking breakdowns.

Beach Fossils have sold-out concerts at venues including Brooklyn Steel in New YorkThe Wiltern in Los AngelesThalia Hall in Chicago, and beyond, and played CoachellaBonnarooPrimavera, and Post Malone’s Posty Fest. The band’s latest release, 2021’s The Other Side of Life: Piano Ballads, hit No. 3 on the Billboard Traditional Jazz Albums chart and the band recently cracked seven million monthly listeners total across all platforms. Bayonet Records is a genre-expansive independent label Payseur co-founded in 2014; it continues to serve as an incubator for a diverse roster of developing artists.

Pre-order Bunny

Bunny Tracklist:
1. Sleeping On My Own
2. Run To The Moon
3. Don’t Fade Away
4. (Just Like The) Setting Sun
5. Anything is Anything
6. Dare Me
7. Feel So High
8. Tough Love
9. Seconds
10. Numb
11. Waterfall

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.