News, Reviews

Janette King Shares New Single “Ooh Yeah” – Debut Album Due June 25th via Hot Tramp Records

June 7, 2021
credit Michael Oyaro

Janette King

Shares new single, “Ooh Yeah”

Debut Album: What We Lost – June 25, 2021
via Hot Tramp Records

Montréal-based producer and artist, Janette King, is today sharing “Ooh Yeah”, the final advance track to be lifted from her forthcoming debut album, What We Lost which is set for release on June 25, 2021, via Hot Tramp Records. You can listen to “Ooh Yeah” below:

Janette King · Ooh Yeah

Ooh Yeah has this alluring pull to the rhythmic passages and the subtle yet bouyant percussive beats, immediately this creation oozes this sultry appeal and that’s before Janette’s standout vocals join the ensemble. High reaching vocal notes and delicate harmonies, capturing this creative energy and impressive fearless attitude. “Ooh Yeah” adds this experimental break down to highlight the transition between verses and the mix of these attributes bring this distinct vibrant influence. THroughout the release Janette King dominates the ambiance with their dyncamic vocal range and keep the audience fixated and embracing the intensity of the atmosphere.

What We Lost is an album – as alluded to by the title – that deals with change and loss but more importantly understanding and accepting it, knowing when to double down and knowing when to fold your cards. It draws on an array of wider themes and ideas that help to underpin these notions, digging into King’s understanding of energies and alchemy. “Ooh Yeah”, which comes produced by GRAY, finds Janette locking into ideas of self-confidence and self-belief, having the determination to follow through with your dreams and ambitions and putting yourself first. Sonically it finds King tapping into her penchant for R&B and woozy electronica whilst really demonstrating her ability for soaring vocals and magnetic cadence.

Speaking about the new single, King says: “‘Ooh Yeah’ is about breaking trauma patterns, “killing” your old self in order to be reborn into the greatest version of yourself. This idea of walking into a new sense of self came from the forced time alone due to the pandemic where I was left to reflect and learn what my soul truly needs in order to feel whole. The song touches on some of the positives of pandemic solitude, namely self-reflection and also rediscovering self-pleasure as a form of empowerment – “Just alone with me, me and myself, feeling my body”.”

The complexities of loss are a tough, often impossible thing to try and comprehend. Through the prism of house, alternative R&B, and pop, the Vancouver-born, now Montréal-based producer and artist attempts to decipher some of these difficulties with What We Lost. King’s songs seek to tap into the frightening intersection where searing pain and sadness can produce soaring new heights for art whilst simultaneously unpacking changes in her life such as the ending of romance, the loss of close family members, and skirmishes with mental health resulting in, at times, a loss of self.

Recorded against the backdrop of the 2020 Black Lives Matter protests, the message of What We Lost only grew more intense for Janette; an album that gravitated around change and raw emotion found its message fortified by what was taking place around her. As a full collection, the album presents a wise-beyond-its-year maturity, arriving as something a little more experienced than the title “debut album” would normally suggest. It’s a statement from Janette King that, in a similar way to contemporaries such as Victoria Monét and Snoh Aalegra, fuses deeply personal assessments of life with glass-half-full soundscapes, establishing King as one of Canada’s surest new voices. This full body of work arrives following a run of tipped singles and EPs which have found acclaim in Canada earning support from CBC Radio, Exclaim, and Xtra Magazine, as well as opening sets for Sudan Archives, CupcakKe,and Jamila Woods.

What We Lost will be released June 25, 2021, via Hot Tramp Records – preorder here.

1. Airplane
2. You Don’t Love Me
3. Mars
4. Unconditional
5. Cool Me Down
6. What We Lost
7. Right Here
8. Change
9. Mirror
10. Caught in Smoke
11. Ooh Yeah
12. Found a Way

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.