Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

The Lawrence Arms announce new album ‘Skeleton Coast’ – out July 17th on Epitaph

May 28, 2020

THE LAWRENCE ARMS announce new album Skeleton Coast’
Out July 17 on Epitaph Records
Share new track ‘PTA’

Chicago bred trio The Lawrence Arms will release ‘Skeleton Coast’, their first album in six years, on July 17 via Epitaph Records. The band offers fans a glimpse at the record with the release of the first single from the new record, ‘PTA.

‘Skeleton Coast’ was recorded 30 miles east of El Paso, TX at Sonic Ranch Studios with longtime producer Matt Allison. “It was kind of like album camp in the sense that we were in this very remote setting for two weeks and really focusing on making the record. That was a very different experience for us because we’ve always made our records in Chicago which is home and all the things about home are in the way,” says vocalist and guitarist Chris McCaughan.

The album contains the elements of the band’s sound that fans have come to love for the past two decades but recontextualizes them in a way that somehow sounds perfectly aligned with this strange time in our collective history. Although it was written and recorded before the Coronavirus upended the world, the band’s seventh studio album sounds eerily prescient as it imagines an apocalyptic future where coyotes croon and wolf packs roam free.

“For a band who has been around as long as us, this is about as urgent of a record as we could make,” vocalist and bassist Brendan Kelly explains. “It may be kind of dark but it’s really about searching for light in the darkness and finding it, as small as those moments may seem. That’s sort of where we’re at: Collecting the scraps of things that could make for a bearable existence in dark times.”

1. Quiet Storm 
2. PTA 
3. Belly Of The Whale 
4. Dead Man’s Coat
5. Pigeons and Spies 
6. Last Last Words 
7. Demon 
8. Ghostwriter 
9. How To Rot 
10. Under Paris 
11. Goblin Fox Hunt 
12. Lose Control 
13. Don’t Look At Me 
14. Coyote Crown

The Lawrence Arms have never had any agenda apart from just having fun and making good music. Since forming in Chicago in 1999—the trio of bassist/vocalist Brendan Kelly, guitarist/vocalist Chris McCaughan and drummer Neil Hennessy—have made albums that continually challenge the boundaries of their sound. In the process they’ve carved out a distinctive identity in the punk community that’s simultaneously gritty, beautiful, melodic and mutinous. 

For more information on The Lawrence Arms, visit:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.