May 7, 2017

Nick Sayers


Song appears on their forthcoming album
War Moans, out June 2nd on Sargent House

“Fusing Cave In’s high-flying melodicism to Converge’s knotty riffage… rumbles and soars like Mastodon stomping Queens of the Stone Age in a prehistoric Soundgarden.” – Rolling Stone

“Mutoid Man is a supergroup. Mutoid Man defies all of the trappings that come with that. But more than anything Mutoid Man is fun.” – Noisey

“…merges highbrow fretboard architecture with immediacy, punch, and a merciless severity.” – Pitchfork

“…a fiery, nasty, riff-filled metal and punk fest of unstoppable, unbeatable energy.”  – Decibel Magazine

“Bleeder is an instantly infectious slab of heavy metal thunder.”  Metal Hammer 

“a joy to behold on just about every level.”  Rocksound

As they prepare for the release of their sophomore LP War Moans on June 2nd, Mutoid Man – the brainchild of Steve Brodsky (guitar, Cave In), Ben Koller (drums, Converge, All Pigs Must Die), and Nick Cageao (bass) – have unveiled the album’s second single.  Check out the music video for “Kiss of Death,” which showcases the band playing the song straight from the source at God City Studios, where they recorded War Moans, on Loudwire.

Mutoid Man sets a precedent of divine instrumentation and unholy riffs on War Moans; the band basks in their love of frantic, ferocious, no-frills metal – no riff deemed too extreme, no drum pattern considered too absurd.  And since their inception, Mutoid Man’s live shows have been exercises in showmanship, with the requisite headbanger gymnastics morphing into Van Halen-esque panache and hardcore-basement-show prankery.

On War Moans, Mutoid Man recruited friends from all over the musical spectrum to join them; “Irons in the Fire” finds Cave In compatriot Adam McGrath lending guitar heft to a megalith anthem,“Melt Your Mind” instantly recalls The Big Four, with thrash icon Marty Friedman further cementing the vibe by lending a blazing guitar solo, and grim folk luminary Chelsea Wolfe and her longtime collaborator Ben Chisholm lend vocals and auxiliary instrumentation to the goth-inflected “Wreck and Survive”, as well as the album’s harrowing closing track, “Bandages.”

Additionally, check out Mutoid Man as the house band in the uproarious second episode of Two Minutes to Late Night, the world’s only heavy metal-themed talk show, here.
War Moans is available for pre-order now via  HelloMerch and iTunes.
Mutoid Man War Moans track listing:
1.  Melt Your Mind
2.  Bone Chain
3.  Micro Aggression
4.  Kiss of Death
5.  Date with the Devil
6.  Headrush
7.  Irons in the Fire
8.  War Moans
9.  Wreck and Survive
10.  Afterlife
11.  Open Flame
12.  Bandages

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.