Yip Man premieres video for “Barnburner” on Dork! Debut album ‘Braw Power’ – 11th November

November 7, 2016

Braw Power V4 12OuterSleeve-3mmSpine

Yip Man shares new video “Barnburner” from debut album, Braw Power
out 11th November 2016

“Laced with a Weezer-esque sense of fun, big riffs and appreciation of guitar pop… a delight” – CMU

“Fiercesome Powerpop” – Vic Galloway (BBC Radio Scotland)

Yip Man is the alter-ego of Scottish songwriter Al Nero, the former frontman of blissful guitar slingers Le Reno Amps and the co-founder of Glasgow’s Armellodie Records. Since Le Reno Amps bowed out in 2011 one might be forgiven for thinking that outside of co-running Armellodie Nero has been somewhat idle.  In truth he has been undergoing metamorphosis. He’s been away.  Al Nero went to China… Yip Man came back.

Today Dork Magazine premiered his lates video to “Barnburner”

Nero explains, “‘Barnburner’ is a fist-in-the-air declaration of how hard things can be sometimes, the bittersweetness of being bettered in a love bout. The chorus sways on its feet like a punch-drunk poet tag-teamed by heart and hurt, and the final quiet chord is like the last gasp death breath of the tired and defeated.

A good friend of mine described it to me as, ‘heartache’s cathartic arctic heartbreak’,  that certainly has a ring to it but I’ve no idea what it means! To me, ‘Barnburner’ is the self-aware, self-affirming admission of defeat that we all need sometimes.”

From the explosion of the lop-sided opener “Barnburner” and the synth-riddled rocking of “Not That Easy”, to the Calypso carnival of “For Your Own Good” and Pavement-esque brain-rockin’ of “Skinny White Ghost”. The songs on Braw Power find Nero lyrically and poetically tackling his own existential ennui, whilst sounding like a man who just found the last Golden Ticket in his Wonka Bar.

There is a world-weary sarcasm in the lyrics, a black humour, and sometimes a barely withheld anger. This creeps into the music as well, and we start to hear dissonance, unusual rhythms and chromatic melody upsetting and mutating the kind of songs that might otherwise have had something of the simplicity of the Ramones.

With grand ambitions tempered by a homely charm, you can be sure that whatever life throws at Yip Man, he’ll bat it straight back with his killer hooks.

Check out the videos to album tracks,“Skinny White Ghost”“Silver Wings” and “Not That Easy”.

photo credit: Cheryl McCann


Braw Power Tracklisting:
1. Barnburner
2. Not That Easy
3. In The Book
4. Crying Thunderstorms
5. Kings and Queens
6. Stuck on Repeat
7. For Your Own Good
8. Silver Wings
9. Skinny White Ghost
10. This Girl I’m Bound
11. Taxi
12. It’s About Time We Stopped

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.