An Horse Release Music Video For “Started A Fire” – ‘Modern Air’ Out Now on Lame-O Records

August 29, 2019
Photo credit: Jarod Evans

An Horse Premiere Music Video For “Started A Fire” via Talkhouse

Modern Air Out Now on Lame-O Records

An Horse are now premiering a music video for “Started A Fire” via Talkhouse. Alongside the video is an essay by songwriter Kate Cooper detailing the song, which was written weeks after the 2016 election. “Started A Fire” comes off of the band’s new album Modern Air, which came out in May on Lame-O RecordsModern Air was the first new album from the Brisbane, Australia turned New York/Montreal based indie two-piece in eight years. The album is streaming everywhere and available to purchase now digitally and physically via Lame-O Records, as well as Poison City Records in Australia, and Grand Hotel van Cleef in Germany/Austria/Switzerland. 

Pick up a copy of Modern Air

Lame-O Records has also recently pressed An Horse’s debut album Rearrange Beds to vinyl for the first time. Originally released on Mom + Pop in 2009, the album received critical acclaim, leading them to tour with Tegan and Sara, Death Cab for Cutie, Silversun Pickups, Nada Surf, Cage the Elephant, and more. When pressed to vinyl earlier this year, BrooklynVegan ran a piece on the announcement featuring quotes praising the record from Sara Quin of Tegan and Sara, Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie, Christopher Guanlao of Silversun Pickups, and Kevin Devine.

Modern Air track list:
1. This is a Song
2. Live Well
3. Started a Fire
4. Get Out Somehow
5. Bob Ross (Be the Water)
6. Breakfast
7. Ship of Fools
8. Mind Reader
9. Drown
10. Fortitude Valet
11. Begin Again

The heart of An Horse’s magic is rubbery and elastic. Rows of slinky, hypnotic spirals, widening middle-out. They’ve never spun to more vibrant and dynamic impact than on their third album Modern Air.

Loosely from wherever-you’re-seeing-them-play-tonight-by-way-of-Brisbane-to-Montreal-and-New-York, Kate & Damon woke up from a six-year nap to make their best, broadest and most accomplished album, doubling-down on and clarifying their strongest strengths while casually developing and showcasing a career’s-worth of new ones.

Before their 6 year break, An Horse were 2 albums into their career and touring non-stop with the likes of Tegan and Sara, Death Cab for Cutie, Silversun Pickups, Nada Surf, Cage the Elephant, and Brand New when a series of distracting life events forced them into a hiatus of sorts. That hiatus led to an extended break from touring and recording that’s finally ending with their 2019 album Modern Air, out May 3rd on Lame-O Records.

The songs on their new record manage to be both propulsive and loping, lean mission statements about negotiating modern living easter-egged with intelligence and humour, melodic and percussive ear candy, heart and teeth, hope and anger.

They sound like themselves, two-headed and singularly focused, a particularly effective evolutionary step in a long tradition of of guitar-based indie-rock, angular in spaces, jangly in others, sometimes both at the same time. They take a familiar vocabulary and teach it new words, one sugary harmony barbed-wired to unflinching insight at a time.

Modern Air is An Horse at their most realized, and it’s right on time. Some naps are worth taking.

An Horse Online

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.