SPELLLING announces new album ‘Mazy Fly’ for Feb 22nd release on Sacred Bones- Hear “Haunted Water”

November 13, 2018

Catalina Xavlena



– Announces album ‘Mazy Fly’
out February 22nd on Sacred Bones
– Hear “Haunted Water” now


“Like Solange looking in a haunted mirror.” – The Guardian
“Cabral has ‘it’, from her careful sense of composition to her charismatic presence to her ability to communicate with her music straight through to the listener’s heart.” – Bandcamp
“Hard to Please” is striking precisely for its clarity and control… a haunting, super-intense ballad that concentrates an epic’s depth of feeling into a slender bit of restrained pop.” – Pitchfork
“Otherworldly deconstructions of pop music, signaling a new voice in contemporary experimental music.” – XLR8R
“Tender and otherworldly, but nonetheless dazzling.” – The Fader

Today Sacred Bones have announced the new album from SPELLLING, the Bay-area based project of Chrystia Cabral. ‘Mazy Fly’ is set for release on February 22nd and today we share a first taste with the track “Haunted Water”.

‘Mazy Fly’ musically traverses the spaces between languid, honey-soaked vocals and distant angelic whispers, from thumping 808 club beats to crunching tape loops, and from silky, smooth R&B to whirling organ sonatas. First glimpse, “Haunted Water” is an intensely heavy song about the memories of colonial violence that haunt the historical slave ship routes of the Middle Passage.

Chrystia Cabral began experimenting with music production in 2015 in an effort to carry on the creative legacy of a lost loved one and released her first full-length, Pantheon of Me’, in September 2017 via Bandcamp. Drawing heavily from messages in her dreams, her sound spirals through clarity and obscurity searching through landscapes of psychic space. The result is a divine soul music, soft in its restraint but heavy with passion. Hers is a unique vision, inhabiting a world of its own.

‘Mazy Fly’, the second full-length by the Bay Area artist SPELLLING, and first for Sacred Bones, explores the tension between the thrill of exploring the unknown and the terror of imminent destruction. Chrystia Cabral spent the summer of 2018 in her Berkeley studio reflecting on the thresholds of human progress and longing for a new and better tomorrow. She was struck by the way the same technologies that have given humans the ability to achieve utopian dreams of discovery have also brought the world to the precipice of dystopic global devastation. Despite the darkness of this reality, ‘Mazy Fly’ is defiantly optimistic. It is a celestial voyage into the unknown, piloted by Cabral.

Pre-order ‘Mazy Fly’ here:

‘Mazy Fly’ track list:
1. Red
2. Haunted Water
3. Hard to Please
4. Golden Numbers
5. Melted Wings
6. Under the Sun
7. Real Fun
8. Hard to Please (Reprise)
9. Afterlife
10. Dirty Desert Dreams
11. Secret Thread
12. Falling Asleep

‘Mazy Fly’ artwork (photo by Catalina Xavlena):

Spellling links:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.