Russian quintet Aesthesys talk w/ Decibel Magazine about being outsiders, share new track from forthcoming album

March 18, 2018

Aesthesys talk with Decibel Magazine, share track from forthcoming epic album

“A lush and beautiful centerpiece to an epic and sprawling masterpiece of dramatic compositions with roots reaching back to the neoromantic works of Russian composer George Sviridov and other rich, dense harmonic textures.” — New Noise

“A welcome addition to the world of grandiose and magnanimous, yet emotionally dark, post-rock.” — Decibel

Moscow, Russia quintet Aesthesys share a new track from their forthcoming sophomore album Achromata today in an interview with Decibel Magazine. New Noise Magazine previously launched the album’s first single, “Marea” HERE.

Alongside the album’s epic, dramatic tunes, the song titles also coincide with a fictional short story that accompanies the release. Read the full story HERE.

Aesthesys is an instrumental outfit based in Moscow, Russia. Founded by Nik Koniwzski as a one-man project back in 2007, it has eventually evolved into an ensemble performing post-rock music with ambient and neoclassical influences by becoming a quartet in the end of 2011, with Eldar Ferzaliev, Dmitry Solopov and Arsentiy Karpov joining as guitarist, bassist and drummer. By early 2013 band expanded with Victor Krabovich joining as keyboardist.

In the next years Aesthesys performed live across many European countries, including at the biggest post-rock festivals of Europe – dunk!festival (Belgium) and Astral (Russia), and shared the stage with such bands as God is an Astronaut, 65daysofstatic, Maybeshewill, And So I Watch You From Afar, Ef, sleepmakeswaves and many others.

After the release of Ascendere in 2013, their further strive for experimentation eventually resulted in line-up changes, and with Sasha Coudray as a bassist and Nikita Sarukhanov as a drummer they started to work on the material for Achromata, expanding their touring geography with Asia after their solo China Tour in 2016.

In recent years they have worked with Jamie Ward (Maybeshewill, Dark Dark Horse) and Ian Shepherd (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Deep Purple, King Crimson, Keane).

The current lineup consists of Sasha Coudray (bass guitar), Artem Taganov (drums), Eldar Ferzaliev (guitar), Victor Krabovich (guitar, keyboards) and Nik Koniwzski (violin, keyboards, guitar).

Achromata will be available to download on April 3rd, 2018. The LP vinyl version will be released later this summer in limited edition on Narshardaa Records. Pre-orders are available HERE.
04/05 Moscow, Russia @ Gorod
04/07 St. Petersburg, Russia @ Fish Fabrique Nouvelle
04/21 Minsk, Belarus @ Brugge
Artist: Aesthesys
Album: Achromata
Label: Self-released
Release Date: April 3rd, 2018
01. Grauer Wald
02. Filis Aureis
03. Marea
04. Himmelbarn
05. Melanocardia
06. Sapatha
07. Apogeion
08. Eosfyllon

On The Web:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.