Red Seas Fire Set For ‘Resolution’- EP Announcement + Single Stream

January 13, 2015

Red Seas Fire Set For ‘Resolution’

“Our initial aim really was to release an album’s worth of material, split across 3 E.Ps, and over the space of one year,” states Robin Adams, vocalist of Red Seas Fire; “Due to assorted factors such as line-up changes, it’s ended up being almost one E.P release per year instead, but I feel there has been a creative benefit to that, as we got to really digest the music that we were putting out, before having to rush to write/record the next one. This has allowed us to be more critical of ourselves, to really look back on what we’d created and understand how to push and try to better each future release.”

When we last heard from the West Country based quartet, it was April of 2014, and Red Seas Fire had just unleashed Confrontation, the follow up to 2013’s Exposition, to critical acclaim and a new found sense of creative satisfaction from within their rank. But, far be it from RSF – completed by guitarist/producer Pete Graves, drummer Jake Fogarty, and newly recruited bassist Jon Worgan – to languish on their laurels, the band pushing themselves ahead through self-imposed challenges to ensure that their last instalment of their now three year spanning ‘Mise En Scène’ project was the most devastating work of all: “We feel that ‘Resolution’ is the true culmination of the past two EPs,” assures Adams; “‘Exposition’ was a fairly straightforward outing, a fairly shallow introduction to the themes, ‘Confrontation’ was the heavy, unhappy moment where discord and malcontent set in, and ‘Resolution’ is where those two atmospheres battle it out to bring it all to a conclusion. It is heavier, it is more dramatic, it is the perfect end to our little story.

Largely home-produced and recorded (with a little help from their friends, including notably Adam ‘Nolly’ Getgood), Resolution truly finds Red Seas Fire as masters of their manifest destiny, each element of their richly textured sound dense with peaks, troughs and, well, riffs…. Did we mention the riifs? Where the listener might often be lulled by Adams’ keen ear for melody and the ever-present waves of ambience that wash across Resolutions’ peaks, there’s always a Godzilla groove lurking around the next corner, songs such as ‘Blood Bank’ and ‘Ocean Death’ offering up RSF’s most satisfyingly weighty moments to date. “This has definitely been a progression from record to record for us,” Adams concludes; “It’s been about finding the sound we want to go for, trying to work out what you want to sound like can bring challenges along the way; sometimes you try something, and then after you get out of the recording process and it’s released, realize that it didn’t work or that was just plain rubbish. It can be hard to be objective. But I feel we’re arriving to somewhere close now to where we want to be.

Listen to the lead single from ‘Resolution’, track ‘Blood Bank’, here:

Resolution Track Listing:
1: Hourglass
2: Blood Bank
3: The Mistakes we Make
4: Ocean Death

Currently Confirmed Live Dates:

January With Vera Grace-
15 – Leeds – Milo’s
16 – Bristol – The Gryphon
17 – Leicester – The Shed
18 – London – Surya
03.02 – Oxford – The Wheatsheaf
With Disperse-
12 – Portsmouth – Tika Bar
13 – London – Black Heart
14 – Leeds – Temple of Boom
15 – Manchester – Retro Bar
16 – Nottingham – Doghouse

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.