Native America Share Stunning New Single “Like A Dream” on Stereogum; Announce New Album “Grown Up Wrong”

September 3, 2014


Native America Share Stunning New Single “Like A Dream” on Stereogum; Announce New Album “Grown Up Wrong”

Inflated Records are excited to announce the release of Native America’s upcoming record Grown Up Wrong — an album bursting with pop perfection and endless summer vibes. This is rock & roll, directly from the heart of New Orleans, at its purest form. Native America has captured the charm and pace of their hometown, offering their own unique musical insight, while showcasing influential sounds of “The Big Easy” in an entirely different light. The band recently premiered the album’s first single “Like A Dream” on Stereogum, praising the song as “slightly hallucinatory, highly rambunctious, and always riding a contagious groove. It’s as physical as it is ephemeral; it shimmers and it shakes.”

Native America is a rock & roll trio from New Orleans, Louisiana. The band, comprised of Ross Farbe (guitar/vocals), Ray Micarelli (drums) and John St. Cyr (bass/vocals), has evolved from Farbe’s dorm room recording project to deliver their first proper studio LP, Grown Up Wrong, via Inflated Records (Oberhofer, Ava Luna, Zula) on November 18. After releasing Dancing About Architecture with Park The Van Records, self-recording last summer’s Bad Weed / But Still Weed EP, and touring heavily over the past few years, Grown Up Wrong finds them in peak form. Recorded with engineer Chris George at NOLA’s the Living Room, the album is a triumphant leap forward for Native America, infusing this young three-pieces’ gift for easygoing songwriting with textured production that provides the record with simplistic nuances and gorgeous tape warmth.

Native America’s music is as much a product of current indie rock (Ariel Pink, Deerhunter) as it is 60’s pop (Beatles, The Kinks) and classic New Orleans soul records (Fats Domino, Lee Dorsey). When asked about the origin of their band name, frontman Ross Farbe explained, “I was thinking about the heritage of the music I wanted to create, and how rock and roll originated in America. It’s a joining of cultures and influences that could only happen in our young, strange country.” They’re a group of old souls in modern times, offering a blend of the familiar with a distinctly new approach. The songs on the new full-length are instantly memorable, yet new and unpredictable, as they warp through various eras of musical influence. It offers a deep variety of effortlessly feel good nostalgia with dynamic flourishes, shifting through infectious melodies at every twist and turn. Grown Up Wrong is the perfect end of summer record, where the relaxed nature of Native America never ends, bringing the heart of New Orleans to the world — one hook-filled pop gem at a time.

“the New Orleans trio trades in ebullient, hooky classic rock as filtered through about a half-dozen psych-pop revivals” – Stereogum

“New Orleans trio Native America’s recent tape Bad Weed/But Still Weed is chock-full of dimed amps rumbling through ragged speakers and those wonderful left-field chord changes that run through The Kinks’ catalog.” – Nashville Scene

Named a “Band to Watch in 2014” by Daytrotter

Watch Native America perform “Caroline” live as part of Consequence of Sound’s #AreaCode series HERE.

Grown Up Wrong is due out November 18th, 2014 via Inflated Records on vinyl and digital. Pre-orders are available HERE

Native America – Grown Up Wrong [Inflated Records]
artwork by Sally Edelstein
Release Date: November 18th, 2014 [Pre-Order]
Track List:

1. Rabo
2. Dance With Me
3. Like A Dream
4. Naturally Lazy
5. Old Friends
6. Digital Lobotomy
7. All About You
8. What’s On Your Mind?
9. Well Understood
10. Jenny
11. Caroline

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.