Feature, News, Reviews

SRSQ Shares New Single “Abyss”- New Album “Ever Crashing” out August 19th on Dais

July 21, 2022


Shares new single “Abyss”
New album ‘Ever Crashing’ 
  to be released on August 19th via Dais

 Kennedy Ashlyn aka SRSQ [pronounced ‘seer-skew’], has shared a captivating new single from her forthcoming album ‘Ever Crashing’, which is set for release on the 19th of August through Dais.
The delicate yet crushing ballad “Abyss” sees Ashlyn sing of her bipolar disorder with shattering clarity. Raw and vulnerable, the track embodies her unique ability to masterfully synthesizes her private struggles and sorrows into stirring, redemptive anthems. Her multi-octave range and moodswing songcraft consists of tumult and triumph, darkest night breaking into brightest dawn, proving her a musician of elemental force.

The accompanying self-directed video pictures Kennedy submerged in water. She comments: “Abyss describes my darkest days with the imagery of my skinless body trapped in a riptide, its rawness exacerbated by the rushing saltwater. Suspended above is a glowing orb, the promise of peace, growing fainter and fainter as the tide pulls me down. I watch it disappear in yearning surrender, only to be resurrected by the powerful shine of the sun, which cuts through the water at random, allowing me to ascend if only for a short time.  The video was shot almost entirely underwater using a home made periscope.”

SRSQ produces this heartfelt, classic journey, a touching ballad-like exploration with a lasting influence. A truly beautiful soundscape that captures the intimacy and vital emotion that SRSQ laces her work with. This visceral arrangement carefully grows, delicately develops, and whilst the instrumentation builds up to more powerful surges it’s the ethereal vocal harmony and immensely raw lyrics that allow the volatile nature to collide with the strings, the energy ignites. Such a dynamic and extremely talented artist with an impressive nature to connect with her audience and continually grow.

‘Ever Crashing’ began materializing in the wake of an ADHD and bipolar disorder diagnosis, prompting a profound personal overhaul. Ashlyn cites such periods of turmoil as a muse of sorts, when “songs begin to echo within me,” gradually reverberating clearer and more vividly. As melodies and arrangements come into focus, the songs act like containers, vessels in which to externalize and exorcize tumultuous emotions.
“I became myself in the process of making this record.” From the first choral swells of opener “It Always Rains,” it’s clear this collection exists on an ascendent plane, capturing an artist in superbloom. From swooning end credits balladry (“Dead Loss”) to orchestral slow-burn torch songs (“Abyss”) to dizzying shoegaze heavens (“Someday I Will Bask In The Sun”), the album exudes a sense of aching grandeur and bewildered joy, rich with triumphs hard won and lost loves never forgotten. 
Melodies pirouette and crescendo in dazzling, elevated acrobatics, somewhere between Kate Bush and The Sundays, threaded with ethereal undercurrents of shimmering shadow. Riffs brood and sparkle over crystalline synths, buoyant bass, and patient percussion, steadily building to holy moments of tidal power, finessed to perfection by producer Chris Coady (Beach House, Slowdive, Zola Jesus). Ashlyn’s is a dream-pop of questing catharsis, vulnerable but orchestral, as dense with hooks as heartbreak.
The album’s title refers to Ashlyn’s recurring sensation of being trapped in the crest of a wave, turned and churned in the surf, mirroring the cycles of self-flagellation and surrender that she battles being bipolar. But as the poetic raptures of these songs attest, her creative process thrives at transmuting trauma into potent music of arresting beauty and hidden divinity. 
‘Ever Crashing’ is an aching, rare work, shaded with gradients of reverie and regret, loss and letting go, “mourning the person I thought I should be, mourning the person I never was.” But even in its pain, Ashlyn’s voice exerts a redemptive gravity, yearning to transform and transcend: “Even on the inside / I’m bracing for impact / I’m waiting to destroy my life / To become sunlight.”

Ever Crashing’ sees its release August 19 via Dais Records on vinyl and across all digital platforms, pre-order or pre-save here

 ‘Ever Crashing’ track list:
1. It Always Rains
2. Saved For Summer
3. Dead Loss
4. Used to Love
5. Ever Crashing
6. Fear
7. Winter, Slowly
8. Abyss
9. Élan Vital
10. Someday I Will Bask In The Sun


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.