News, Reviews

STONE Share New Single ‘Stupid’ & Announce New Tour In May

February 10, 2022
Photo Credit: Charlie Harris



STONE share a new single ‘Stupid’, another fierce and roguish offering from the rising Liverpool four-piece, accompanied by an appropriately chaotic music video. STONE have already sold-out their debut national headline tour set to kick off this weekend, which includes a 500 capacity show in their hometown. They have now announced a second headline tour for May, which will see them take on larger venues and new cities across the country, before appearing at Summer Festivals including Boardmasters, full dates below. STONE were recently named as part of the NME 100 for 2022, and were invited by Yungblud to join his national tour late last year, amassing a legion of new fans off the back of their dynamic live show. 

STONE showcases their unlimited potential as they deliver this mighty ensemble filled with more-ish melody and this obnoxious energy. All of this oozes from the fierce tonality that lifts the raucous and rilled-up instrumentation. STONE are insatiable, the outfit recognizes the importance of these addictive beats and fuses their mighty vision surrounding these ample percussive pushes and gritty riffs.

Of the new single, the band comment, “Stupid was captured during a period of time when we felt torn between being a child and an adult. The lyrics go deep into the youthful angst of growing up. We’ve backed this with a wall of sound and a guitar riff that almost sounds like an alarm siren letting you know how real everything is getting. The lyrics are sarcastic at times and we wanted the melody of the guitar and bass to have a groove to pace the song out. We wanted the song to feel uneasy and exciting at the same time.”

‘Stupid’ follows STONE’s previous single ‘Let’s Dance To The Real Thing’, which premiered via Steve Lamacq on BBC 6 Music, and was championed by the likes of Clara Amfo and Jack Saunders on BBC Radio 1. The band toured alongside The Blinders and Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard, and appeared at festivals including Live At Leeds, Liverpool Sound City, as well as explosive appearances as Reading & Leeds Festivals, as captured by BBC Introducing here

STONE are Fin Power (vocals/guitar), Sarah Surrage (bass), Elliot Gill (lead guitar) and Alex Smith (drums). Like many new young bands, STONE’s introduction to the scene has been less than conventional. Dropping their first track ‘Leave It Out’ shortly before national lockdown, STONE’s rite-of-passage experience of playing live shows was cut short, and their following single ‘Fuse’ emerged directly from that sense of stagnancy and restlessness. Despite this, STONE have quickly built a name for themselves in the North West scene, with the coming live dates set to make further waves across the UK. 


Tickets here:

STONE – February headline tour 2022

12 Feb | Glasgow | Poetry Club SWG3 *SOLD OUT*

13 Feb | Bristol | Louisiana *SOLD OUT*

14 Feb | London | The Camden Assembly *SOLD OUT*

15 Feb | Birmingham | The Sunflower Lounge *SOLD OUT*

17 Feb | Manchester | Deaf Institute *SOLD OUT*

18 Feb | Liverpool | Arts Club Theatre *SOLD OUT*

20 Feb | Leeds | Brudenell Social Club – Community Room *SOLD OUT*

STONE – May headline tour 2022

20 May | Manchester | Gorilla

21 May | Glasgow | King Tuts

22 May | Sheffield | Leadmill 2

24 May | Newcastle | The Cluny 2

25 May | Birmingham | O2 Institute 3

26 May | Bristol | Exchange 


14 April | Birmingham | O2 Institute  – supporting The Reytons

15 April | Hull | Asylum – supporting The Reytons

16 April | Stockton | Stockton Calling Festival 

21 April | Oxford | O2 Academy 2 – supporting The Reytons

22 April | Bournemouth | Old Fire Station – supporting The Reytons

23 April | Brighton | Concorde 2 – supporting The Reytons

29 April | London | O2 Academy Islington – supporting The Reytons

13 May | Sheffield | Magna – supporting The Reytons

29 May | Norwich | Neck of the Woods Festival

30 July | Kendal | Kendal Calling Festival 

14 August | Newquay | Boardmasters

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.