VIOLENT SOHO Share New Video For ‘Pick It Up Again’

March 16, 2020


New Video for ‘Pick It Up Again’ on Brooklyn Vegan

New Album ‘Everything Is A-Ok’
Out 3rd April 2020


Australian rock band, Violent Soho, are exclusively premiering their new single and video, “Pick It Up Again,” via Brooklyn Vegan.

On the video, vocalist/guitarist Luke Boerdam shares, “We came up with the idea joking around –  at some point every band member has actually “door-knocked,” so we thought it’d be funny to take our record door to door.  It feels like there’s such a big disconnect with how we interact with music these days so it was pretty rad to actually play in some people’s houses. I was surprised we didn’t get more slammed doors in our face!  Probably the most fun film clip we’ve ever made.” 

This follows the releases of singles “A-OK,” “Vacation Forever,” and “Lying On The Floor,” all four of which come off of the band’s forthcoming fifth studio album, Everything Is A-OK due out 3rd April, 2020 via their new label, Pure Noise Records. The album is available for physical pre-order here.

Additionally, Violent Soho will be playing four shows in late-April in support of the Everything Is A-OK. The tour will be hitting Amsterdam, London, New York, and Los Angeles. For a full list of tour dates, please see below.

After years of being the kids who didn’t fit in anywhere with their first two records (2008’s We Don’t Belong Here; 2010’s self-titled), Violent Soho crashed back into the public’s consciousness with 2013’s Hungry Ghost in a hail of riffs and “HELL F*CK YEAH”s scrawled on arms, desks, and bathroom walls the world over. 2016’s WACO, meanwhile — despite a No.1 chart debut, ARIA awards, festival headlining spots and sold-out tours to the biggest crowds of their careers — came amid personal upheaval for drummer Michael Richards, bassist Luke Henery and guitarist James Tidswell.

But with Everything Is A-OK, Mansfield’s favorite sons drew a metaphorical line in the sand: five albums into their career they didn’t want to follow a rulebook written by other people. That’s what Everything Is A-OK is: a declaration that THIS is who Violent Soho are as a band. As musicians. As mates. 

“It’s honest,” explains Boerdam. “It’s doesn’t claim to be anything it’s not: it’s apolitical, slacker, cynical, and trying to connect with people over a shared experience in pointing out society’s failures and the personal shit that follows.”  

Everything Is A-OK seethes with harsh reflection on the way the world has become obsessed with creating social media simulacra where everyone is repping their own ‘brand,’ and how connection is fleeting and shallow. It ponders the ideas of agency, emotion and how they’re being sold to advertise who we want people to think we are, not who we actually are. Producer Greg Wales (You Am I, Sandpit, triple J’s Like A Version) captured the essence of such at New South Wales studio, The Grove Studios.

Everything Is A-Ok is out 3rd April, 2020 via Pure Noise Records. 

Everything Is A-Ok Tracklisting:

 01. Sleep Year

02. Vacation Forever

03. Pick It Up Again

04. Canada

05. Shelf Life

06. Slow Down Sonic

07. Lying On The Floor

08. Easy

09. Pity Jar

10. A-OK

Upcoming Tour Dates:

Apr 21 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Apr 22 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Sat 25 April – Rough Trade, New York NY
Mon 27 April – The Troubadour, Los Angeles LA

On sale now

Tickets from

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.