Los Straitjackets to release ‘What’s So Funny About Peace, Love And Los Straitjackets’ on 19 May

March 5, 2017

Los Straitjackets Ask What’s So Funny About Peace, Love And Los Straitjackets

Masked Marvels Pay Tribute to Nick Lowe
On New Studio Album Out May 19 On Yep Roc 


“Instrumental rock demands as much imagination as it does raw chops….”— Boston Globe

“…novelty is a key ingredient, but it’s elevated by the band’s good-natured sincerity and skill.”   –NPR World Café

“…one of the best surf-rock bands in the galaxy…” –PopMatters

Following three holiday tours with Nick Lowe, America’s foremost instrumental guitar combo Los Straitjackets couldn’t help but ask the question, “What would Nick Lowe’s songs sound like as instrumentals?” On May 19, the Grammy-nominated guitar heroes will answer that question with the release of What’s So Funny About Peace, Love And Los Straitjackets on Yep Roc Records.

 “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love & Understanding”

Produced by Neil Brockbank, Nick Lowe’s producer and longtime collaborator, the band delves into 13 of Lowe’s most iconic songs from his illustrious career with original arrangements. The album also features longstanding Lowe band member Geraint Watkins on keyboards, the recording debut of Royston Lowe on percussion, and a vocal cameo by Lowe himself on an undisclosed track.

“Recording these songs reminded me what a great melodist Nick is,” observes guitarist and co-founder Eddie Angel. “Everybody knows that he writes great lyrics, but he doesn’t always get credit for his amazing melodies. The fact that the songs stand up as instrumentals is proof of that. And I think that we managed to bring something new to the songs, which is what you hope to do when you’re covering other people’s material.”

Known for their audacious album concepts and star-crossed collaborations, when it comes to delivering high-energy rock and roll instrumental music, no one equals the finesse, power and perseverance of Los Straitjackets.

Over 20 years ago, the Nashville-bred band—Danny Amis (guitar), Eddie Angel (guitar), Greg Townson (guitar), Pete Curry (bass) and Chris Sprague (drums, percussion)—first donned their easily recognizable attire of lucha libre masks. Since then, the group has released 15 studio albums, two live albums, and toured the world with El Vez, Dave Alvin, The Reverend Horton Heat, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, Big Sandy, and Nick Lowe.


1. Shake And Pop
2. All Men Are Liars
3. Lately I’ve Let Things Slide
4. You Inspire Me
5. Rollers Show
6. (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding

7. I Read A Lot
8. Half A Boy And Half A Man
9. Checkout Time
10. I Live On A Battlefield
11. Raging Eyes
12. Cruel To Be Kind
13. Heart Of The City

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.