News, Reviews

Geneva Jacuzzi Announces New Album “Triple Fire” due August 23rd via Dais Records & Shares Lead Single/Video “Art Is Dangerous” 

June 25, 2024
Photo credit: David Zuckerman and Geneva Jacuzzi


Announces new album ‘Triple Fire’ due August 23rd via Dais Records
Shares lead single/video “Art Is Dangerous” 

Los Angeles-based multimedia artist Geneva Jacuzzi announces Triple Fire, her third full-length and first since signing with Dais Records, due for release August 23rd, 2024. The announcement is accompanied by the scorching lead single “Art Is Dangerous” which comes with an equally arresting yet celebratory video that Geneva created and stars in (alongside Peter Kalisch and Byron Adams), additionally featuring numerous cameos from a variety of artists in her orbit, including:

Weyes Blood, Jae Matthews (Boy Harsher), Mac DeMarco, Drab Majesty, Ian Svenonius, Ron Athey, King Woman, Seth Bogart, Twin Shadow, Izzy Glaudini (Automatic), John Carroll Kirby, Patriarchy, Sextile, Riki, Dynasty Handbag, Tempers, Kontravoid, Cooper B Handy, Chris Coady, Iggy Gonzalez, Nick Aguayo, Nour Mobarak, Josh da Costa, Donzi, Romy (Romy Hoffman), Diva Dompe, Toucan, Thalia Mavros, Nedda Afsari, Skylar Kaplan, JJ Stratford, Mira Billote (White Magic), Cate Kennan, Isabella Behraven, Mike Long, Renee Clark, Emily Anderson, Roderick Edens, Andrew Briggs

Geneva Jacuzzi shares: “This video is about artists… of all different mediums. Musicians, performance artists, painters, filmmakers, photographers, writers, video artists. The community I come from is quite special and full of incredible friends and people who motivate me. I’m a solo artist but I cherish my community of people who inspire me and wanted to share this debut with everyone.”

Prepare to be dazzled by the immense attitude that infectiously cuts through this release. A distinct brutalist/drone influence is simmering at the low end of this complex electronic ensemble. Whilst this layered release flirts with sonically gripping textures and piercing melody, the destructive tone and sharp vocal melodies melt through the voyage.

Art Is Dangerous” follows “Dry,” a piece of retro-futurist body music about disconnection and uncertainty, released as a surprise single in April accompanied by a striking black & white video which features Geneva suspended upside down, referencing the Hanged Man in tarot.

“Art is Dangerous” written by Geneva Jacuzzi, with Roderick Edens and Andrew Briggs. Produced by Geneva Jacuzzi, co-produced by Roderick Edens, Andrew Briggs and Josh da Costa. Additional Synth by Dylan McPherson.

Since first splashing on to the Southern California circuit in the mid-aughts, Geneva Jacuzzi (née Garvin) quickly cemented herself as the queen of the Los Angeles underground. Her immersive and unhinged multimedia performances are the stuff of legend, a psychotropic gallery of masks, costumes, confrontation, and massive art installations. Jacuzzi’s recordings are equally revered, catchy hooks and cryptic moods dusted in 4-track grit. The arrival of her third official full-length, and Dais Records debut, is cause for such celebration. Triple Fire vividly expands and crystallizes Jacuzzi’s signature fusion of midnight melody and mutant aerobics across a 12-track hit parade of wildcard synth-pop and sly post-apocalyptic camp.Her enthusiasm for the album is as bold as her body of work: “Halfway through, we started calling this the record of the prophecy, the record that’s going to save mankind.”

Opener “Laps of Luxury” sets the template – a strobe-lit dreamer’s delight of swaggering synth bass, Haçienda drum machinery, and sultry vocal spellcasting (“Tragic mysteries I’ve known for centuries / I burned all memories and turned to fantasy”). The collection burns through shades of sardonic strut (“Art Is Dangerous,” “Nu2U” co-produced by Josh da Costa, “Keep It Secret”), coldwave kiss off (“Speed Of Light,” co-produced by Andrew Clinco of Drab Majesty), retro-futurist body music (“Dry,” “Scene Ballerina, “Bow Tie Eater”), and cheeky glitterball pop (“Take It Or Leave It,” “Heart Full Of Poison” co-produced by Roderick Edens and Andrew Briggs). She likens the eclectic spectrum of moods to the continuum of human emotions: “Funny, sexy, sad, scary, witty, hopeful, menacing. Eventually it deconstructs, turns into a party, and then ends sweet and soft. Like a horror film, watched in reverse.”

Taken as a whole, Triple Fire comes as close as any document yet to capturing Jacuzzi’s kaleidoscopic alchemy of pop sugar and chaos energy, flickering between icy and ironic, chic and surreal, hungry and heartsick. Hers is a muse as rare as it is regenerative, forever reborn at the precipice of the next chorus: “Someone said that Alcatraz had fallen into the sea / Almost sounded like an angel calling me in a dream / I felt an electric shock when I picked up the microphone.”


Triple Fire tracklist:
1. Laps of Luxury
2. Art Is Dangerous
3. Speed Of Light
4. Nu2U
5. Dry
6. Scene Ballerine
7. Take It Or Leave It
8. Keep It Secret
9. Rock And A Hard Place
10. Bow Tie Eater
11. Heart Full Of Poison
12. Yo-Yo Boy

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.