Feature, News, Reviews

DEADLETTER Share New Single “Mother” – Debut Album “Hysterical Strength” out 13th September via SO Recordings & UK / EU Headline Tour Dates

June 6, 2024
Photo credit: Daniel Delikatnyi

Deadletter Share New Single ‘Mother’

Debut Album Hysterical Strength out 13th September via SO Recordings

UK / EU Headline Tour Dates through Oct and Nov

DEADLETTER are sharing their new single ‘Mother’, the latest track to be taken from forthcoming debut album Hysterical Strength (13th September via SO Recordings). ‘Mother‘ follows lead single ‘Mere Mortal’, which saw a raft of early media support and currently sits on the BBC 6 Music playlist. The band’s headline tour dates in the UK / EU are on sale now.

‘Mother’ intertwines spidering guitars and waterfalling saxophone lines with passages that soar and crash. Produced by famed British producer Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys, Adele), the album’s opening statements make for a model introduction to a record of exploratory art-punk that brews malevolent atmospheres and searches darkened corridors for clarity amongst the cacophony of chaos.

Lead singer Zac Lawrence says about the song: “Mother takes direct inspiration from the Bong Joon Ho film of the same name, but also hones in on the wider idea of motherhood, and the lengths that a mother will go to for their child.”

DEADLETTER has produced this enthralling arrangement which boasts a wealth of emotion, textures and complexity. “Mother” offers up this brooding and propulsive slice of gritty post-punk imagination.

This darker theme materialises through the deep yet sincere vocal notes, the lyrics pierce the compelling landscape and thread affection to the words, printing this immense power throughout the journey. As the boisterous bass weaves through the passages and captures the low end, the drum shuffles with this consistency and capacious animation, but the skill of this composition is the unpredictable nature relished by all musicians. This track fluctuates with this fierce intensity and the rocketing saxophone, the landscape continuously evolves and becomes this ground for each musician to impress and capture their united power.

DEADLETTER have once again crafted this flawless voyage filled with dynamic rhythm and melodic waves which loops throughout and emits this addictive essence at its core. Angular notes blend into this colossal soundscape with the addition of boisterous beats and infectious energy. 

The world is brutal but there are cherry trees in blossom. This is the philosophy that underpins DEADLETTER, and their bruising, beautiful debut album Hysterical Strength“It’s punishing but there’s also fucking beauty out there,” explains frontman Zac Lawrence, who, with life-long friends Alfie Husband and George Ullyott, and Poppy Richler, Sam Jones and Will King, may just have turned in one of 2024’s most urgent and vital listens – a record that, right down to its title, relishes the contradictions of modern life. “Being able to take something disgusting or disgraceful and make it sound nice through the power of music, that juxtaposition appeals to me,” Lawrence adds. The result is twelve tracks of motorik rhythms and angular guitars, adorned by smoky saxophone and baritone-belted lyrics about flickering television sets and dilapidated town centres decked with decapitated bodies. Its strengths are hysterical indeed.

In their short time releasing music the band has picked up support from the likes of BBC Radio 1, Clash, DIY, Dork, Kerrang!, Metro, NME, So Young, The Times, and also landed on the 6 Music playlist. They’ve sold out shows across the UK and Europe and in October 2024 will begin their biggest headline run to date.


Alfie Husband – Drums
George Ullyott – Bass
Poppy Richler – Saxophone
Sam Jones – Guitar
Will King – Guitar
Zac Lawrence – Vocals

DEADLETTER – Hysterical Strength 2024 headline tour dates

Pre-order Hysterical Strength from the DEADLETTER store to access pre-sale tickets for November’s UK tour.

11 Oct – Le Grand Mix, Tourcoing, FR
12 Oct – La Maroquinerie, Paris, FR
14 Oct – Les Abbatoirs, Cognac, FR
16 Oct – Cafe Berlin, Madrid, ESP
17 Oct – Razz 3, Barcelona, ESP
19 Oct – Covo, Bologna, IT
20 Oct – Arci Belleza, Milan, IT
22 Oct – Exil, Zurich, CH
23 Oct – Strom, Munich, DE
24 Oct – Arena, Vienna, AUT
25 Oct – Bike Jesus, Prague, CZ
26 Oct – Frannz, Berlin, DE
28 Oct – Molotow, Hamburg, DE
29 Oct – Gebaude 9, Cologne, DE
30 Oct – Trix, Antwerp, BE
31 Oct – Les Primeurs de Massy, Massy, FR
02 Nov – Doornroosje, Nijmegen, NL
03 Nov – Rotown, Rotterdam, NL
04 Nov – Tolhuistuin, Amsterdam, NL
06 Nov – Thekla, Bristol, UK
07 Nov – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK
08 Nov – Band on the Wall, Manchester, UK
09 Nov – Stylus LUU, Leeds, UK
10 Nov – St Lukes, Glasgow, UK
12 Nov – The Cluny, Newcastle, UK
13 Nov – Crookes Social Club, Sheffield, UK
14 Nov – Chalk, Brighton, UK
16 Nov – Electric Brixton, London, UK

Hysterical Strength album artwork by Ian Macdonald 

Track Listing

1. Credit To Treason
2. More Heat!
3. Mother
4. Bygones
5. A Haunting
6. It Flies
7. Hysterical Strength
8. Relieved
9. Deus Ex Machina
10. Practise Whilst You Preach
11. Mere Mortal
12. Auntie Christ


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.