Bright Eyes Announce New Album “Five Dice, All Threes” due 20th September via Dead Oceans & Share New Single

June 26, 2024
Credit: Nik Freitas

Bright Eyes Announce New Album Five Dice, All Threes for 20th September

New Track “Bells and Whistles” Out Now

UK & EU Tour Dates Announced

Bright Eyes have announced their new album, Five Dice, All Threes, for release on 20th September via Dead Oceans. Comprised of Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, and Nate Walcott, the beloved band’s 10th studio album features guest performances from long time friends Cat PowerThe National’s Matt Berninger and The So So Glos’ Alex Orange Drink. Alongside today’s album news comes the release ofthe first track, “Bells and Whistles,” and a slew of tour dates for the United States and Europe, including headline slots at Riot Fest and BFF Festival. All shows listed below.

Bells and Whistles” is a rollicking, anthemic bop that gallivants from NY to LA, its lacerating lyrics referencing Banksy, Princess Diana, the Mets, Silverlake stalwart bar Edendale, music biz pitfalls, and Kevin Costner’s greatest film. The lighthearted video, directed by Josh Boone, was filmed in Omaha, Nebraska and features a magical photobooth, a bar fight, and a performance. 

Of the track, Conor Oberst says, “This is a song about the many little details in life that can seem insignificant or frivolous or temporary at the time but eventually end up forming your destiny. And it’s also kind of a whistle while you work scenario.”

Something so timeless oozes from the core of the new release, a vivid energy that captivates this wide audience, the emotion that stirs from the vocal notes which resonate the infliction of the words.

Self-produced, and recorded at Mike and Conor’s studio, ARC, in Omaha, Nebraska, Five Dice, All Threes is a record of uncommon intensity and tenderness, communal exorcism and personal excavation. These are, of course, qualities that fans have come to expect from Bright Eyes, nearly three decades into their career. The tight-knit band of Conor, Mike and Nate tends to operate in distinct sweeping movements: each unique in its sound and story but unified by a sense of ambition and ever-growing emotional stakes. Even with this rich history behind them, these new songs exude a visceral thrill like nothing they have attempted before. Conor has always sung in a voice that conveys a sense of life-or-death gravity. At times throughout Five Dice, All Threes, you may feel worried for him; other times, he may seem like the only one with the clarity to get us out of this mess.

Five Dice, All Threes Tracklist:

1. Five Dice

2. Bells and Whistles

3. El Capitan

4. Bas Jan Ader

5. Tiny Suicides

6. All Threes

7. Rainbow Overpass

8. Hate

9. Real Feel 105° 

10. Spun Out 

11. Trains Still Run On Time

12. The Time I Have Left 

13. Tin Soldier Boy 

*Featured Artists: Cat Power (“All Threes”), Alex Orange Drink (“Rainbow Overpass”), Matt Berninger (“The Time I Have Left”)

Bright Eyes on Tour:

10th November – Wolverhampton, UK – Wulfrun Hall

11th November – London, UK – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

12th November – Nijmegen, Netherlands – Doornroosje

13th November – Ghent, Belgium – Ha Concerts

14th November – Cologne, Germany – Carlswerk Victoria

15th November – Berlin, Germany – Tempodrom

16th November – Weissenhauser Strand, Germany – Rolling Stone Beach

18th November – Stockholm, Sweden – Fållan

19th November – Oslo, Norway – Parkteatret

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.