News, Reviews

Porij Share New Single “Ghost” – Taken From Debut Album “Teething” Out April 26th via Play It Again Sam

April 5, 2024
Photo credit: Jesse Glazzard

Porij Share New Single “Ghost”

Debut Album Teething

Out April 26 via Play It Again Sam

Porij today share the final taster from their upcoming debut LP, in the shape of new track Ghost”which just premiered via Matt Wilkinson on Apple MusicTheir much-hyped debut album Teething is set for release April 26th on Play It Again Sam (Nation of Language, Editors and Lykke Li). With warm-up slots for Metronomy, Coldplay and Friendly Fires alongside their own crowd-igniting shows – Porij, the 4-piece who have carved a niche at the forefront of Queer-led dance-pop, have been met with a landslide of attention at press and radio, lauded as “ones to watch” by tastemakers including The GuardianNME and BBC 6 Music. The arrival of Teething invites you to take a leap beyond seeing dance music as a genre, built from this type of kick or that type of snare, and instead as its own dimension: a place you can escape to. 

Porij are Egg (Scout Moore), Jacob Maguire, James Middleton and Nathan Carroll. 

“Ghost” is an admission of vulnerability about losing a friend; Egg inviting us into their inner world, a world they otherwise fiercely protect. Accompanied by the band’s signature euphoric production, Porij pays homage to the language and sounds of the dancefloor which have encouraged generations to feel, not to think.

Porij brings this delicate lyrical delivery to the consuming landscape, still keeping their known Porij guitar tone and their scattered percussive shuffles and embarking on this fragile journey. The landscape evolves with the intensity of the harmonies, moving towards this sweltering lead guitar, gentle loops and brighter transition of the building synth notes. This outfit threads an impressive emotive intimacy through their expressive ensembles, unafraid to touch on volatility amongst this delectable array of vivid tones and textures.

1. Marmite

2. Unpredictable

3. Don’t Talk To Me

4. Endlessly Waiting

5. My Only Love

6. Ghost

7. Stranger

8. Sweet Risk

9. Gutter Punch

10. You Should Know Me

11. Slow Down

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.