News

Mitski Releases New Video For “Star”

April 27, 2024

Mitski Releases New Video For “Star”

Headlines All Points East In London’s Victoria Park 18th August. Tickets On Sale Now.

Fresh off the spring leg of her widely acclaimed The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We North American Tour, Mitski releases a new video for the single “Star.”.

Directed by Maegan Houang, the “Star” video feels timeless, and like a modern film by famed Japanese director Kenji Mizoguchi boiled down to its most abstract elements. “Unlike the more narrative/concept driven videos Mitski and I have done together in the past, I wanted this video to encapsulate the impressionistic circularity we all experience. Our lives oscillate between light and dark repeating itself in an endless cycle where nothing is permanent. The best moments are fleeting, but so are the bad,” states Houang. 

The “Star” video was filmed on a small pond overnight in summer 2023 and presents Mitski performing on a boat in real water amongst painted pieces of wood, creating the illusion of mountains in the background and eliciting what Houang describes as “an otherworldly, atmospheric feeling” to perfectly match the song. Mitski and Houang have a history of collaborating. In addition to “Star,” Houang has directed videos for Puberty 2’s “Happy,” Laurel Hell’s “The Only Heartbreaker” and “Stay Soft.”

Mitski brings The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We tour to the UK and Europe later this week, with a series of live dates that kick off with two nights in Edinburgh at the weekend. The run includes four sold-out shows at London’s Hammersmith Apollo.

Mitski then returns to London in August to headline All Points East in Victoria Park on 18/08 for her biggest headline show in the UK. Remaining tickets are on sale now.

More information on all Mitski concerts can be found here.

Mitski 2024 Tour Dates

Sat. Apr. 27 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall ✺

Sun. Apr. 28 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall ✺

Wed. May 1 – Manchester, UK @ 02 Apollo ✺

Sat. May 4 – Dublin, IE @ 3Arena ✺

Mon. May 6 – Wolverhampton, UK @ The Civic at the Halls ⁂

Wed. May 8 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo ⁂

Thu. May 9 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo ⁂

Fri. May 10 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo ⁂

Sat. May 11 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo ⁂

Tue. May 14 – Brussels, BE @ Cirque Royal ✥

Wed. May 15 – Brussels, BE @ Cirque Royal ✥

Fri. May 17 – Paris, FR @ Le Grand Rex ✥

Sat. May 18 – Paris, FR @ Le Grand Rex ✥

Mon. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Royal Theater Carré ✥

Tue. May 21 – Amsterdam, NL @ Royal Theater Carré ✥

Fri. May 24 – Berlin, DE @ Tempodrom ✥

Sat. May 25 – Berlin, DE @ Tempodrom ✥

Tue. May 28 – Frankfurt, DE @ Jahrhunderthalle ✥

Thu. May 30 – Zürich, CH @ Theatre 11 ✥

Sat. Jun. 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound

Tue. Jun. 4 – Madrid, ES @ Noches Del Botanico

Thu. Jun. 6 – Porto, PT @ Primavera Sound

Sun. Aug. 18 – London, UK @ Headlining All Points East Festival at Victoria Park

Tue. Aug. 27 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre ★

Wed. Aug. 28 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre ★

Fri. Aug. 30 – Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion ★ [SOLD OUT]

Sat. Aug. 31 – Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion ☾ [SOLD OUT]

Sun. Sept. 1 – Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion §

Tue. Sept. 3 – Cleveland, OH @ Jacobs Pavilion ★ [SOLD OUT]

Fri. Sept. 6 – Atlanta, GA @ The Fox Theatre ★

Sat. Sept. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ The Fox Theatre ★

Sun. Sept. 8 – Atlanta, GA @ The Fox Theatre ★

Tue. Sept. 10 – Sugar Land, TX @ Smart Financial Centre ▽

Thu. Sept. 12 – Austin, TX @ Moody Center ✦

Fri. Sept. 13 – Grand Prairie, TX @ Texas Trust CU Theatre ▽

Sat. Sept. 14 – Grand Prairie, TX @ Texas Trust CU Theatre ▽

Tue. Sept. 17 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre ✽

Wed. Sept. 18 – Greenwood Village, CO @ Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre ✽

Sat. Sept. 21 – Portland, OR @ Moda Center ✽

Mon. Sept. 23 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre ◇ [SOLD OUT]

Tue. Sept. 24 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre ◇ [SOLD OUT]

Wed. Sept. 25 – Stanford, CA @ Frost Amphitheater ◇

Sat. Sept. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl ∞

✺ w/ Richard Dawson

⁂ w/ Miya Folick 

✥ w/ Iceage

★ w/ Lamp

▽ w/ Arlo Parks

✦ w/ Ethel Cain

✽ w/ Laufey

◇ w/ Wyatt Flores

 w/ Alvvays

§ w/ Sierra Ferrell

∞ w/ Sharon Van Etten

https://mitski.com

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.