Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Marcel Wave Announce Debut Album “Something Looming” Due 14th June via Upset The Rhythm & Share Lead Single “Barrow Boys”

April 21, 2024
Credit Robin Christian

Marcel Wave

Announce debut album Something Looming
Due out 14th June on Upset The Rhythm

Share lead single + video ‘Barrow Boys’

Marcel Wave announce their debut album, Something Looming– set for release on 14th June via Upset The Rhythm (and on Feel It Records in the US). The DIY punk five-piece, which features members of Sauna Youth and Cold Pumas, also share the first single “Barrow Boys”.

“Barrow Boys” also comes accompanied by a video conceptualised by the band’s very own Maike Hale-Jones and shot and edited by Lindsay Corstorphine.

Marcel Wave deliver this intoxicating creation, a soundscape that brings this glitzy key tone, bountiful gritty guitar tonalities, angular rhythms and mighty drum shuffles. This soundscape oozes such a unique appeal with stop-start motions, alternating tempo changes and the most infectious vocal harmonies dominating the dynamic structure. This band has an attitude that hooks you, a vision that enforces a modernist approach to the punkier influences that inspired and together the musicians’ captivating energy is ready to pull you in.

Marcel Wave write eulogies for tragic actresses, ancient riverbeds and concrete obscenity. Their inaugural sonic instalment ‘Something Looming’ is part trades club symphony, part itchy serenade, and part wistful lament. As their heady concoction of ‘Meades meets Pat-E-Smith meets Kirklees Borough Council’ gets prepped to be formally baptised on a dank stage near you, Upset the Rhythm and Feel It Records have dutifully stepped in to deliver its songbook to the masses on both sides of the pond.

Formed when Lindsay Corstorphine and Christopher Murphy of Sauna Youth and brethren Oliver and Patrick Fisher of Cold Pumas were summoned by northern ink-slinger Maike Hale-Jones, Marcel Wave’s debut offering is a walk through a smoke-filled pub with yellowing wallpaper and all eyes on you. It’s a chronicle of the death of the docklands, the decline of industry, of the high street, of civic pride, of civilisations, of hopes and dreams. As Hale-Jones delivers the bad news in her low West Yorkshire brogue, Corstorphine adds the bells and whistles via the frantic pulsations of a wheezing Hohner organ in tandem with Fisher O’s rasping guitar. MW are completed by the throbbing basslines of Murphy and Fisher P’s fervent rhythms.

The title itself sets the tone for the listener. There’s a sense of foreboding in Hale-Jones’ lyrics which sit at the quintet’s core—elegiac, sardonic and piquant in equal measure. A mixture of narrative epilogues and inward paeans, her words weave tales across a broad thematic church. Crooked tales of urban renewal and the voices left behind are probed in ‘Barrow Boys’ and ‘Stop/Continue’ and are at the fore in ‘Where There’s Muck There’s Brass’ with its refrain lamenting ‘Concrete and slate shine in the rain, cities destroyed, nothing to gain’. In these lyrics, tower blocks loom over terraced houses with the same shadows that the Hollywood sign casts over Peg Entwistle before she takes her tragic leap. ‘Peg’ and ‘Elsie’ are both meditations on two different actresses with different fates crushed by the cut-throat trappings of showbusiness: ‘The mad hopes break, fragile as glass. She traded it all, for the cutting room floor.’ A snaking, existential dread also runs through the album, stated more obliquely in the otherwise poppier interludes of the title track ‘Something Looming’ and album opener ‘Bent Out of Shape’, and present too on the comparatively ramshackle ‘Discount Centre’, where Hale-Jones reports ‘On a mini bus on the outskirts of Enfield, I’m losing all of my spark’. On the album closing weeper ‘Linoleum Floor’, it is laid barer still—a keyboard-led reflection on the deflating nights out of our early-twenties.

Marcel Wave invites the listener to dance to society’s decline, and then to later weep into its lukewarm pint.


1. Bent Out of Shape

2. Barrow Boys

3. Something Looming

4. Peg

5. Mudlarks

6. Where There’s Muck There’s Brass

7. Discount Centre

8. Great British High St.

9. Elsie

10. Ides of March

11. Stop:Continue

12. Linoleum Floor

Pre-Order Album –

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.