Broadcast Announce Two New Albums For 2024 Due To Be Released via Warp Records

March 26, 2024
credit James Cargill

Broadcast present two new albums for 2024 on Warp Records Spell Blanket – Collected Demos 2006-2009 Distant Call – Collected Demos 2000-2006 

Spell Blanket – Collected Demos 2006-2009 to be released 3rd May 2024

Distant Call – Collected Demos 2000-2006 to be released 28th September 2024

Broadcast has shared details of two new releases due via Warp Records this year. The First is “Spell Blanket“.

“Spell Blanket” comprises songs and sketches drawn from Trish’s extensive archive of 4-track tapes and MiniDiscs. The recordings lay the groundwork for what would have been Broadcast’s fifth album, offering a window into Trish and James’ creative process during the post-Tender Buttons period from 2006-2009.

Spell Blanket – Collected Demos 2006-2009 (WARP372) Tracklisting:

01. The Song Before The Song Comes Out

02. March Of The Fleas

03. Greater Than Joy

04. Mother Plays Games

05. My Marble Eye

06. Roses Red

07. Hip Bone To Hip Bone

08. Running Back To Me

09. I Blink You Blink

10. Infant Girl

11. I Run In Dreams

12. Luminous Image

13. A Little Light

14. Hairpin Memories

15. My Body

16. Follow The Light

17. Tunnel View

18. Where Are You?

19. Singing Game

20. I Want To Be Fine

21. The Games You Play

22. Grey Grey Skies

23. Puzzle

24. The Clock Is On Fire

25. Petal Alphabet

26. Tell Table

27. Fatherly Veil

28. Dream Power

29. Heartbeat

30. Call Sign

31. Crone Motion

32. Sleeping Bed

33. Join In Together

34. Colour In The Numbers

35. I Am The Bridge

36. Spirit House

The second release is “Distant Call”.

Distant Call, in contrast to Spell Blanket, is a collection of early demos that were worked into finished productions appearing on Haha Sound, Tender Buttons and The Future Crayon.

Distant Call also includes two songs discovered by James after Trish’s passing: “Come Back To Me” and “Please Call To Book”which was her response to Broadcast’s 2006 ‘Let’s Write A Song’ project, where fans were asked to submit lyrics on a postcard which would then be worked into a finished song.

01. Tears In The Typing Pool [Demo]

02. Still Feels Like Tears [Demo]

03. Come Back To Me [Demo]

04. The Little Bell [Demo]

05. Distant Call [Demo]

06. Valerie [Demo]

07. Colour Me In [Demo]

08. Ominous Cloud [Demo]

09. Flame Left From The Sun [Demo]

10. Where Youth And Laughter Go [Demo]

11. Poem Of A Dead Song [Demo]

12. O How I Miss You [Demo]

13. Pendulum [Demo]

14. Please Call To Book [Demo]

Distant Call is a closing of the door on Broadcast and will be the last release from the band.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.