Feature, News, Reviews

VR Sex Announce New Album “Hard Copy” due March 22nd via Dais Records & Share New Single “Real Doll Time”

January 18, 2024
Photo credit: Anders Larsson 


Announce new album ‘Hard Copy’ due March 22nd via Dais Records
Share new single “Real Doll Time”

Following 2022’s Rough Dimension LP, Noel Skum – aka Andrew Clinco of Drab Majesty – made the radical leap of expanding his psychedelic post-punk vehicle VR SEX into a fully collaborative five-piece band. Hard Copy is the result – 10 tracks of sneering psychedelic punk streaked with Chrome-damaged freak-outs and snotty power pop harmonies chronicling sex doll love affairs and glue-sniffing fatales and is due out March 22nd via Dais Records. To mark the announcement, the band are sharing the first single from the record “Real Doll Time“.

Dominant percussive hits and this enthralling low end bolsters through the soundscape joined by the gritty and piercing guitar passages, all of which continuously adding to the fury of the structure. Then the vocal notes emerge and consume the listener with the mammoth range. The punk roots of this track just continue to expand, bringing this traction to the creation.

The tone just emits this immense ferocity and with the shifting vocal notes and effects, the energy matches the barbarity of the vision. Hooked on the intensity of this release, the composition moves to portay different time signatures, breakdowns, layering of the lyrics and vocals creating this sonically consuming flurry of notes, it’s ambitious and electryfing. Before this twist to allow more electronic rhthyns to emerge through the aggression, VR Sex give this unpredictable journey that ultimately portrays the best VR flex- their range, it’s almighty.

To christen the new group’s camaraderie of becoming a five-piece band, they booked a block of studio time in Glassell Park, swapped skeletal iPhone demos, and “did that classic thing of a band making the exact record they want without any interference.” Working 12-hour days, they banged out the basics in a week, then tracked the rest over a month, fine-tuning it with flourishes, FX, and amplifier experiments.

Mixed by guitarist Mike Kriebel – an accomplished engineer with dozens of credits across the punk, goth, and garage underground – the album is dense, rich, and spatial, spurred by Clinco’s muse of “reckless abandon.” Shadows of Chrome, Stickmen With Rayguns, Japanese psych, and loud-quiet-loud grunge anthems flicker here and there, but ultimately VR SEX’s mode is more sardonic and saturated, oscillating between ripped leather riffing and space echo meltdowns. Banning plug-ins was a mission statement, with most instruments tracked direct into the board, then guitars added via a daisy chain of amplifiers, panned and mixed and matched for maximum intoxication: “My goal is always to load up every take with as much sound as possible in one pass.”
Lyrically, the record revisits the project’s perennial fascinations: twisted lust, cheap thrills, dirty money, doomed delinquents, and ruined romance amid the creeps and cracked dreamers of gritty city voids. The title refers to the uncanny valley between “facsimile and the real thing, and the illusion that one is better than the other – when both come with their own menu of delights and demonic pleasures.”Hard Copy embraces extremes and outliers, delusion and perversion, the conflicted dimensional depths lurking in every exploded heart: “I can be ugly / I can be strong / I can be proper / I can be wrong / I can be lovely / or I can be gone / the thing that will haunt you is still hanging on.”

Hard Copy tracklist:
1. Dictionary Talk
2. Hush Money Millionaire 
3. Inanimate Love
4. Squid Row
5. Real Doll Time
6. Runaway Runaway
7. Space Invasion
8. Jenny Killer Glue
9. In Great Detail
10. Medication or Meditation


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.