Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Solar Eyes Release New Single and Video “Let’s Run Away” – Out via Fierce Panda – Debut Self-Titled Album Due 16th February

January 4, 2024

Solar Eyes Release New Single and Video “Let’s Run Away”

Out via Fierce Panda

Self-Titled Debut Album Due 16th February

Solar Eyes today unveil their new single and video “Let’s Run Away“. The single is described as infusing their far-out sounds with low-slung guitar lines straight out of a Morricone flick, the latest from the Birmingham psych/pop duo is set at a galloping pace that leaves no time to waste. Spaghetti Western and Sci-Fi in equal parts, the duo conjure a score for the extraterrestrial Alamo that never was in this shoegazing, sensory-rushing, tour-de-force.

Surely contributing to its Tex-Mex flavourings, “Let’s Run Away” was written and recorded in Texas last year following Solar Eyes’ debut appearance at SXSW festival. Feeling the desert surroundings and local mythologies seeping into their songwriting, frontman Glenn Smyth recalls of the experience:

“‘Let’s Run Away’ was one of the last songs to be written on the album, it was written in Texas last March when we were out there playing south by. You can sort of hear it as well, there’s that Americana haze type sound. Spaghetti western vibe. I sort of had in my head – now this might sound a bit mad – Tracey Chapman ‘Fast Car’ – in essence. But with a brummie slant. A Bonnie and Clyde type thing.”

Inspired by small-town tales of daylight robberies in times of old and rumours of the last crimes of the infamous duo Bonnie & Clyde, “Let’s Run Away” is alive with drama and intrigue to rival its pulse-quickening pace. As Glenn sings: 

“I hope that given time, you’ll forgive my crimes, I don’t wanna die alone, I love you, I let you go, I’m to blame // I see it all, I heed the call, let’s run away…”

Mixed by Jeff Knowler, it features Glenn Smyth (Guitars/Vocals/Songwriter), Sebastian Maynard Francis (Drums/Percussion), plus additional guitars courtesy of Liam McKeown.

“Let’s Run Away” also arrives with an accomplished official video; a psychedelic cowboy caper, created by the Solar Eyes bassist Emily Doyle. Watch below:

It’s only fitting to start a new year with a track that sets the bar so high, Solar Eyes has done just that with “Let’s Run Away”. A hugely accomplished release that will captivate you immediately. From the sonically surging rhythms and consuming energy of these musicians, the robust and rounded structure, the hard-hitting aggression of something so melodic and vital.

Solar Eyes has this fearless commitment to bring experimental traits to the forefront of its colossal vision. A release that celebrates this Western touch from the tonality and yet soon allows the abundance of hooks to move the track through this rabbit hole and into the grandeur of the landscape. Even when the power shifts focus and the twinkling notes shine through such a plentiful passage, this track continuously alters the perspective and the depth and throughout just dazzles. The vocal notes resonate and the lyrics imprint with such power through the impressionable atmosphere. This shift in intensity increases towards the final few bars, bringing this euphoric and heightened climax. When the release finishes, the audience finds themselves needing to be submerged in the dramatic world of Solar Eyes once more.

“Let’s Run Away” alongside recent single “Top of the World” will be found on Solar Eyes’ eagerly awaited debut album ‘Solar Eyes’, which is due for release on 16 February via the Fierce Panda label.

The cosmic creation of Glenn Smyth and Sebastian Maynard Francis, ‘Solar Eyes’ finds the duo delivering a suite of technicoloured tunes that stretch across acid-dipped sonic landscapes and blissed-out melodies. Recalling trippy trailblazers from Primal Scream to the Chemical Brothers, Spacemen 3 to Spector-ish productions; these 12 psych-dappled songs will stimulate the senses and envelop you in their pop-preened charms. Reaching into topics as far-flung as metaphorical prisons, to unsavoury past acquaintances, the thrill of new-found love, to famous last words; highlights include “Deep Trip”, “Dreaming of the Moon”, and “Acid Test (The Walls are Closing In On Me)”. Produced by Tom Ford alongside Solar Eyes, the album was mastered by Streaky, with additional mixing and mastering by Jeff Knowler. It will be released on 16th February 2024.

Solar Eyes is the project of Birmingham duo Glenn Smyth and Sebastian Maynard Francis. Formed in 2021, the band have since drawn crowds at tastemaker events like SXSW and The Great Escape and released a slew of warmly received singles and three EP releases ‘Dreaming Of The Moon’, ‘Alcatraz’ and ‘Naked Monkey On A Spaceship’. Earning praise from the likes of Steve Lamacq (BBC6 Music) and John Kennedy (Radio X) at radio, plus The Observer and Louder Than War at press, the band have also seen their music featured on renowned TV programmes including Match of the Day and Football Focus. Releasing their s/t debut album via the Fierce Panda label in 2024, Solar Eyes will also launch the record with a hometown launch show at Birmingham’s Hare & Hounds on 16th February.


1. Alcatraz

2. Bulldozer

3. Dreaming Of The Moon

4. Top Of The World

5. She Kissed The Gun

6. Acid Test (The Walls Are Closing In On Me)

7. (At Least) Paranoia Loves You

8. It’s Gone Forever

9. Take Me To The Man

10. Roll The Dice

11. Let’s Run Away

12. Deep Trip


16 Feb – BIRMINGHAM, Hare & Hounds – TICKETS

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.