Feature, News, Reviews

Japanese Television Release New Single “Typhoon Reggae Police” – Taken From New Album “Automata Exotica” due 22nd March via Tip Top Recordings

January 25, 2024



Space-surf-psych-rock quartet Japanese Television release wild and heavy new single ‘Typhoon Reggae Police’. Inspired in a roundabout way by The Fall, the track’s title comes from the name of a demo cassette listed in Mark E. Smith’s autobiography ‘Renegade’. According to guitarist Tim Jones, the song is better summarised as Link Wray (the undisputed king of weird instrumental garage surf rock) playing in Ahmad Zahir’s band (Afghanistan’s ‘Elvis’). 

This mighty web of immersive hooks, deep low-end, jaunty notes and this infectious energy consumes you from the first few notes of this arrangement. Captivated by the creative genius of Japenese Television, their new single “Typhoon Reggae Police” moves into this greater scale and captures such vast complexity and addictive rhythms. As this composition expands we embrace the thunderous low end and bright percussive hits that follow.

As the chaos consumes the ensemble, the intensity skyrockets, as the audience is fixated on the mammoth soundscape and the abrasive grooves that pull you in, Japenese Television‘s fierce tones gain further traction, the musicians unite to show this immense power and the track heads towards this sonically obliterating shift.

Japanese Television produces such almighty tracks that maintain this eccentric and electrifying, wild appeal.

The single is taken from their upcoming second album ‘Automata Exotica’, set for release on 22nd March 2024 by Tip Top Recordings. A combination of cyclical, mechanical rhythms, and heavy bass, Automata Exotica’ is louder, tighter, bolder and rawer than anything Japanese Television have done before.



‘Automata Exotica’ was recorded live to tape in three electric all-night sessions in a windowless room in Homerton by Kristian Bell of The Wytches. “We wanted to make a tighter, more compact record”, says Tim. “We whittled the songs down to be as lean as possible. All the tracks are first or second takes, all of us recorded live playing together, with limited overdubs. No fat, just the energy captured”.

Automata Exotica’ follows Japanese Television’s 2022 debut ‘Space Fruit Vineyard’, a record which caught the support of BBC 6 Music (where they’ve had over 100 spot plays and recorded two sessions for Marc Riley), NME, So Young, Clash, DIY, Arts Desk, Gigwise, Radio X and more. A thrilling live proposition, dates are set to be announced.

Track Listing

1. Golden Birds

2. Typhoon Reggae Police

3. Death Waltz II

4. Ariel School Sighting

5. Automatica Exotica

6. Fantasia

7. Uranium Knights

8. Tabadaboum




You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.