Feature, News, Reviews

Dehd Announces New Album “Poetry” due 10th May 2024 via Fat Possum Records and Shares Lead Single& Video “Mood Ring”

January 31, 2024
Dehd by Atiba Jefferson

Dehd Announces New Album Poetry

due 10th May 2024 via Fat Possum Records

Shares Lead Single & Video “Mood Ring”

Dehd kicks off 2024 by announcing their fifth studio album, Poetry, due this May via Fat Possum Records. Alongside the announcement, Dehd shares the lead single and accompanying music video for “Mood Ring,” A fuzzy, crushed-out bop about falling for a boy on a motorcycle. It’s the tone-setter for all that Poetry is set to deliver as the band shows their ability to weld a variety of musical directions inside a concise and catchy sub-three-minute package. 

Dehd are back, what a mighty return for the trio with their ambitious new arrangement “Mood Ring“. The raw fuzzy tones that initially emerge start to sculpt the landscape with a shift to their usual tones, if only for a few notes. The abrasive introduction is joined with the crushing kit, whilst the drums sustain the compelling momentum, the deeply expressive vocal harmonies of Emily join the soundscape adding an immediate affectionate influx.

The track soon shifts to showcase their renowned and rich guitar tonality, as that flourishes and dominates the landscape, the track alternates again by the infusion of dual harmonies. Mixing the vocals from Kempf to Balla brings this superior elevation to the counter melodies, a force like no other. As the track journeys through its movement, adding more textures and layers to the passages, Dehd delivers a track that can boast a band double its size. Finally, this marching course emerges and then an abrupt drum shuffle plays out the immense new release. Once again, this trio bring such powerful elements to their execution- Dehd are integral!

Dehd carved their way to be the musical saviours of 2020, installing excitement once more into an audience that needed some powerful music to move them, and now they return with a release filled with vibrancy, fun and expression.

Following the whirlwind success of Dehd’s fourth album, Blue Skies, and hit single “Bad Love,” the band turned a writing session into a road trip. First stop, Kempf’s off-grid Earthship in Taos, New Mexico where they chopped wood to stay warm and worked until they ran out of daylight. They then travelled north to a borrowed cabin on the Puget Sound where surrounded by chilly waters, time was marked only by the movement of the tides. “Eating, Sleeping, Breathing, Living – our only purpose was to write,” Kempf recalled. This was the first time the band travelled to distinctly notable locations to write and be inspired. Leaving Chicago proved to be a watershed moment.

They finalized the songs that became Poetry back in snowy Chicago in the warehouse space they’ve called home for nearly a decade. The band tapped Ziyad Asrar of Whitney to co-produce the album alongside Dehd’s own Jason Balla at Palisade Studio, marking the first time the trio has collaborated with anyone outside of the band during the recording process. 

These experiences, coupled with a moment of inspiration from falling in love with Charles Bukowski’s self-affirming poem “The Laughing Heart,” gave birth to Dehd’s fifth album and a new direction—to live life like Poetry.

The band is playing one-off US festivals throughout the winter and spring leading into the 10th May release date, followed by festivals in the UK, Europe, and North America throughout the summer.



10th May 2024 

1. Dog Days 

2. Hard To Love 

3. Mood Ring 

4. Necklace

5. Alien 

6. Light On 

7. Pure Gold 

8. Dist B 

9. So Good 

10. Don’t Look Down 

11. Knife 

12. Shake 

13. Magician 

14. Forget




You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.