Feature, News, Reviews

Brown Horse Announce Spring 2024 UK Tour – Debut Album “Reservoir” Due 19th January via Loose

January 2, 2024




Country rock outfit Brown Horse have announced a UK tour for spring 2024. The tour will follow the release of their debut album Reservoir (19th January) which Uncut Magazine described as a ‘stunning debut’ in their latest issue. Rooted in a collaborative approach to songwriting, the six-piece mix guitar-driven 90s alternative rock with the folk and country sounds of the 70s.


06 MAR Glasgow – The Hug & Pint

07 MAR Edinburgh – Leith Depot

08 MAR Newcastle – Bobiks

09 MAR Halifax – The Grayston Unity

12 MAR Brighton – The Folklore Rooms

13 MAR Guildford – The Keep

14 MAR Margate – Where Else?

15 MAR London – The Shacklewell Arms

17 MAR Luton – The Bear Club

19 MAR Liverpool – Kazimier Stockroom

20 MAR Sheffield – Sidney & Matilda

21 MAR Birmingham – Hare & Hounds 2

22 MAR Manchester – The Eagle Inn

23 MAR Darwen – Sunbird Records

24 MAR Leeds – Oporto

28 MAR Bristol – The Canteen

29 MAR Newport – Le Pub

30 MAR Worth Matravers – Square & Compass

03 APR Norwich – Voodoo Daddy’s

04 APR Ipswich – The Smokehouse

05 APR High Wycombe – Ramblin’ Roots Revue

Tickets here – https://linktr.ee/brownhorse

Starting life in 2018 as a folk quartet, Emma Tovell, Nyle Holihan, Patrick Turner and Rowan Braham spent their early days playing old time standards, Michael Hurley covers and original songs in pubs across England. Coming back together in 2022 post-pandemic, the group moved towards a heavier, guitar-driven sound. Introducing Ben Auld to the band on drums, Brown Horse began to make a name for themselves in the resurgent scene of their adopted hometown, Norwich. With the addition of Phoebe Troup in the summer of 2023 completing the line-up, Brown Horse made the short drive to Sickroom Studios, where they spent four days recording with Owen Turner.

The studio up there is basically a huge barn surrounded by farm fields and wetlands. It felt like being at Big Pink or something. It’s not too fancy, just a very quiet and beautiful place. There was a little annex a few steps from the studio’s front door with a couple of bunk beds where we’d fall asleep watching The Simpsons after recording all day. In between takes we’d just hang out in the sun. Owen’s got two big golden retrievers, Poppy and Daisy, and they were always running around. There was a bunch of chickens too”.

The songs of Reservoir are rooted in a country-rock tradition. While the band acknowledges an indebtedness to the turn-of-the-millennium alt-country sounds of Uncle Tupelo, Silver Jews, Lucinda Williams, and Jason Molina, the songs on the album also resonate with the preceding “Last Waltz’” generation of seventies folk-rock artists, as well as more recent works.

Brown Horse – Reservoir

1. Stealing Horses

2. Reservoir

3. Shoot Back

4. Everlasting

5. Bloodstain

6. Paul Gilley

7. Sunfisher

8. Silver Bullet

9. Outtakes

10. Called Away

When it came time to record, the most difficult thing was working out which songs we would have to leave out. All of us in Brown Horse are songwriters, and each of us have been writing for years, which meant we were walking into the studio with a pretty big back catalogue of songs we couldn’t hope to record all of in just a few days. In the end, we felt that the songs which make up Reservoir shared something tonally; a kind of dark undercurrent which verges on desperation at points. It’s kind of a sad album, which is strange given how much fun we had making it”.

What’s clear in the latest track released, is that the forthcoming record is going to be a timeless debut. The quality of the recording, the sentiment found in the tonality of their arrangements, heartfelt, warm and easily connectable.

Reservoir will be released on 19th January 2024 on classic black vinyl LP, CD and digitally. Pre-order.


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.