Feature, News, Reviews

Japanese Television Announce Sophomore Album Release “Automata Exotica” due 22nd March 2024 via Tip Top Recordings & Share New Single “Tabadaboum”

November 17, 2023



Informed by UFO encounters, ritualism, robots, Northern Soul, and nuclear weapons, space-surf-psych-rock quartet Japanese Television are back as they announce their second album ‘Automata Exotica’, set for release on 22nd March 2024 by Tip Top Recordings. A combination of cyclical, mechanical rhythms, and heavy bass, Automata Exotica’ is louder, tighter, bolder and rawer than anything Japanese Television have done before.

‘Automata Exotica’ was recorded live to tape in three electric all-night sessions in a windowless room in Homerton by Kristian Bell of The Wytches. “We wanted to make a tighter, more compact record”, says guitarist Tim Jones. “We whittled the songs down to be as lean as possible. All the tracks are first or second takes, all of us recorded live playing together, with limited overdubs. No fat, just the energy captured”.

Out now, the fuzzed out lead single ‘Tabadaboum’ is titled as a made-up French onomatopoeia, describing the sound of the main riff. Keyboardist Ian Thorn says “The song was the last to be recorded in the session and we were trying to get that ‘end of a gig’ energy into the track. The layered outro (using a wah-wah pedal that was owned by bassist Eléa’s dad) was inspired by a week touring with GOAT and their duelling guitarists”

The almighty debut “Space Fruit Vineyard” remains one of the most timeless releases, we are so excited to now hear more innovative new music from the flawless Japanese Television. Their latest taste from their forthcoming follow-up and sophomore album release is “Tabadaboum”. This hypnotic and infatuating soundscape engulfs the audience amid the kaleidoscopic loops, powerful textures and infectious melody. Every attribute unites to emphasise the excitement, the excitement of the rhythms, and the excitement of the chosen tonality, it’s another impressive creation where the passages deliver complexity and charm.

The impressive songwriting skills are back, and Japanese Television continues to deliver on their inspirational arrangements filled with vibrancy, imagination and explosive energy.

‘Automata Exotica’ follows Japanese Television’s 2022 debut ‘Space Fruit Vineyard’, a record which caught the support of BBC 6 Music (where they’ve had over 100 spot plays and recorded two sessions for Marc Riley), NME, So Young, Clash, DIY, Arts Desk, Gigwise, Radio X and more. A thrilling live proposition, they are currently on a UK tour that culminates with a headline slot at Norwich Psych Fest on 18th November. More live and festival dates are set to be announced for 2024.

‘Automata Exotica’ is set for release on 22nd March 2024 on LP and digital formats via Tip Top Recordings.

Track Listing

1. Golden Birds

2. Typhoon Reggae Police

3. Death Waltz II

4. Ariel School Sighting

5. Automatica Exotica

6. Fantasia

7. Uranium Knights

8. Tabadaboum




You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.