News, Reviews

Poolside Shares New Single “Moonlight” – Album “Blame It All On Love” out October 20th via Ninja Tune imprint Counter Records

October 16, 2023


Shares new single “Moonlight”
Album ‘Blame It All On Love’ out Oct 20th via Ninja Tune imprint Counter Records

With his new album Blame It All On Love out October 20th via Ninja Tune imprint Counter Records, Poolside, the recording project of producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jeffrey Paradise, is back with new single “Moonlight“.

Lofty vocals on Poolside’s  “Moonlight” -co-written with Cut Copy’s Ben Browning and the follow up to their “Ride With You” – invoke the celestial energy of a nautical night sky underscored by a mellow disco rhythm. 

In keeping with its nocturnal theme, the track arrives with a compelling companion video directed by rising filmmaker Otium (Kate Bollinger, Widowspeak) that features Paradise – flanked by a disco ball and vintage boombox – crooning to the camera on a bluff overlooking nighttime Los Angeles. 

“We wrote this song in Ben Browning’s garage on a card table with a pretty sketchy setup,” describes Poolside. “Then we brought it back to our studio in Malibu and worked on it some more. We used this cool pedal called the Strymon Deco to give the synths an old school vibe. This paired with modern production led to a great song. I was pretty nervous to put my voice on the track, but I recorded it with Lewis Pesacov and I’m really happy with how it turned out. It was a good learning experience to let someone else guide me vocally instead of getting stuck in my own head. Overall, I’m super proud of this song!”

Poolside keeps the summer essence, the escapism entity and the frivolous beats coming. Another release that you can fully lose yourself within. Poolside creates such dynamic and picturesque soundscapes that bring vivid character to the vision and the lasting affection cascading from the beats and lifting textures.

Meanwhile, Poolside–hot off major festival plays at Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, and tour dates around the southeast–can be seen with his live band in Austin for the closing weekend of Austin City Limits. Joining Poolside’s Jeffrey Paradise– who can be found on guitar / vocals / synths in the live sets–is Vito Roccoforte (The Rapture / Body Music) on drums, Mattie Safer (The Rapture / Lovetempo) on bass / vocals, Casey Butler (Pharaohs) on saxophone / lap steel / percussion / vocals and Alton San Giovanni (Alton Allen) – guitar / vocals. Collectively these shows build towards Poolside’s largest career tour to date. Look for Poolside’s Blame It All On Love which also features previous singles “Each Night” ft Mazy, “Float Away” ft Vansire, “Back To Life” with Panama, “Ride With You” with Ben Browning and “We Could Be Falling In Love” to be released October 20, 2023.

‘Blame It All On Love’ tracklist:
1. Ride With You
2. Float Away
3. Back To Life
4. Moonlight
5. Where Is The Thunder?
6. Each Night
7. We Could Be Falling In Love
8. Ventura Highway Blues
9. Hold On To You
10. Sea Of Dreams
11. Lonely Night

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.