Feature, News, Reviews

Marnie Stern Shares New Single “Believing Is Seeing” – New Album “The Comeback Kid” Out 3rd November via Joyful Noise Recordings

October 3, 2023
Photo Credit: Nick Johnson

Marnie Stern Shares New Single
“Believing Is Seeing”

First album in ten years The Comeback Kid
Out 3rd November 2023
on Joyful Noise Recordings

Marnie Stern shares new song “Believing Is Seeing” from The Comeback Kid, the long-awaited new album due for release November 3rd, 2023 via Joyful Noise Recordings. The release of “Believing Is Seeing” comes with an animated video directed by Nespy 5Euro.

Marnie Stern says, “‘Believing Is Seeing’ is about trying to build a world of music through different sounds, and how you can create your own cohesive universe through these sounds.”

Fast, frantic and filled with this infectious melody, prepare to be dazzled with another vivid arrangement from Marnie Stern.

Marnie is back creating some of the best music of their career. This explosive ensemble exudes this immense and captivating energy and carefully builds this expressive structure containing layers of intricate notes, brash beats and consuming melody. At just over 2 minutes long, this is a dynamic ensemble that conveys such a weight, to the body of the release, to the shifting intensity, to Marnie’s alternating vocal range, it’s an intricate web of chaos.

It’s been a decade since we last heard new music from Marnie Stern, but when her guitar bursts in like a shower of stardust on The Comeback Kid, the follow-up to 2013’s The Chronicles of Marnia, it’s like no time has passed. The Comeback Kid is a statement of intent: “I can’t keep on moving backwards,” Stern repeats on the anthemic opening track and lead single “Plain Speak,” her fingers furiously tapping the fretboard as the song joyfully zips forward like a rocket hitting warp speed.

Where has Stern been? She cops to having been lulled by the gentle rhythm of a nine-to-five job as the guitarist in The 8G Band on The Late Show with Seth Meyers; she’s also been raising two kids. But when it came time to start working on a new record, the ease with which she picked up right where she left off was surprising even to her. “I expected that all those years of playing other kinds of stuff would have influenced me—and it didn’t at all! I was fully back where I was before,” Stern says.

Make no mistake: this is no nostalgia trip. Stern continually pushes herself outside of her comfort zone throughout The Comeback Kid, including not leaning on the tapping technique that launched a thousand Eddie Van Halen comparisons. “Til It’s Over” is as straight-ahead an “alternative rock” song as Stern has ever made and there’s a cover of Ennio Morricone’s “Il Girotondo Della Note.” 

“It was so great to be able to start being myself again and when I would think, ‘Oh, is that too,too weird?’ I’d remember I’m allowed to do whatever I want! This is mine. It’s me,” says Stern of writing songs for The Comeback Kid. “I’m trying to go against the grain of this bullshit that when you get older, you lose your sense of taste. I want to empower people to not be so homogenous and go against the grain a little bit.”

Taking joy in your individuality is the message of The Comeback Kid, as is the realization that making music which truly reflects who you are in all your brightness and your weirdness is quite possibly the key to happiness. “This record is about reassuring yourself that happiness is not about what kind of things you have or how many things you have or what you don’t have—it’s about all the good things you do,” says Stern.

The Comeback Kid Tracklisting:
1. Plain Speak 
2. Believing Is Seeing 
3. The Natural 
4. Oh Are They 
5. Forward 
6. Working Memory 
7. Il Girotondo Della Note (Ennio Morricone cover)
8. Til It’s Over 
9. Nested 
10. Earth Eater 
11. Get It Good 
12. One And The Same


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.