Iron & Wine Announce “Who Can See Forever”- The Soundtrack From Forthcoming Documentary and Concert Film out 17th November via Sub Pop & Shares “Thomas County Law (Live)” Video

September 26, 2023
photo credit: Trevor Wentt

Iron & Wine Announce “Who Can See Forever”, The Soundtrack From Forthcoming Documentary and Concert Film out 17th November via Sub Pop & Shares “Thomas County Law (Live)” Video

On 17th November, Sub Pop will release Iron & Wine’s Who Can See Forever, an accompanying live record to a film of the same name. Captured by director Josh Sliffe at Haw River Ballroom in Saxapahaw, North Carolina, the soundtrack features nineteen songs from the twenty-plus-year career of singer-songwriter Sam Beam. Having found inventive ways to re-invent his catalogue live over the years, Who Can See Forever offers new and fresh versions of Iron & Wine songs, including “The Trapeze Swinger,” “Boy With a Coin,” and “Naked As We Came.” Initially intended as a live concert film, the film evolved into a visual portrait capturing Beam during a creative outburst that earned him four Grammy nominations in four years. Like his music, the film touches on universally personal themes as Beam tackles managing his personal and professional life as an artist. Taken as one, the soundtrack and film are a fascinating first-time glimpse behind the scenes of Iron & Wine.

Who Can See Forever is produced by Sam Beam and was recorded by his longtime live sound engineer Jelle Kuiper, mixed by Matt Ross-Spang at Southern Grooves in Memphis, TN, and mastered by Richard Dodd in Nashville, TN. To accompany the announcement Beam has shared the live recording of “Thomas County Law”. 

Heartfelt, sincere and stunning from start to finish.

The Who Can See Forever soundtrackis available to preorder on CD/2xLP/digitally worldwide from Sub Pop. LP preorders from Iron & Wine’s official, and select independent stores in North America will receive the Loser edition on transparent glacial blue vinyl. In the UK and Europe, LP preorders through Sub Pop’s new, Mega Mart 2, and UK/EU Independent retailers will receive the Loser edition on transparent sun yellow vinyl.

The Who Can See Forever documentary concert film will be screening in theatres in select US cities this Fall/Winter before platforming to streaming services in 2024. Dates are forthcoming.

Preceding the soundtrack’s release, Iron & Wine will perform at the Hollywood Bowl with The Postal Service and Death Cab For Cutie on Tuesday 17th October.

1. The Trapeze Swinger

2. Boy with a Coin

3. Woman King

4. Thomas County Law

5. House by the Sea

6. About a Bruise

7. Sodom, South Georgia

8. Last Night

9. Monkeys Uptown

10. Wolves (Song of the Shepherd’s Dog)

11. Grace for Saints and Ramblers

12. Dearest Forsaken

13. Glad Man Singing

14. On Your Wings

15. Passing Afternoon

16. Pagan Angel and a Borrowed Car

17. Naked as We Came

18. Call Your Boys

19. Muddy Hymnal

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.