News, Reviews

Benét Shares New Single & Video “Overpowering” – Debut Album “Can I Go Again?” due September 22nd via Bayonet Records

August 10, 2023
Photo Credit: Grade Solomon


Richmond Virginia (USA) artist Benét shares “Overpowering,” the second offering from his upcoming debut album Can I go again?, due September 22nd via Bayonet Records.
“Overpowering” finds Benét ruminating over a poorly-timed love affair and contemplating the work he’s done to fix his most important relationship, the one he has with himself. The song comes alongside a video of Benét hanging and performing with his friends and is guided by a smooth saxophone reminiscent of 90s classics. This latest single follows the release of the album’s lead track ‘Insensitive,’ a classic rock love song that showcases Benét’s refined songwriting that got covered in CLASHDIYThe Forty FiveGuitar World, Rough Trade and more.

Prepare to be blown away by the stunning new single from Benét. “Overpowering” embraces such a raw mentality, through the words and the expressive vocal harmonies gliding through the sultry soundscape that comes to life with the additional instrumentation and organic textures. The track envisions this soulful journey, the lyrics touch on intimacy and the structure compliments this vivid energy.

Can I go again? is an album that explores a wide range of indie-pop, rock, and soul tracks, evoking deep emotions and captivating listeners. The songs delve into the experiences of relationship breaks and personal growth during Benét’s early 20s. With Can I go again?, Benét embraces more organic instrumentals and refined songwriting, symbolizing a reset with greater knowledge, maturity, and confidence. The music encourages individuals to take their time, grow intentionally, and confidently express their joy and vulnerability. Through collaborations with various groups of friends and musical partners in Richmond Virginia and Philadelphia like Garret Russ (guitar)Stephanie Young (bass), and Lance Holmes (drums), Benét infuses a healing quality into the album. Ultimately, the album aims to connect with the audience and inspire them to find their own place amidst the complexities of human relationships.
The album marks a transition from Benét’s previous 2021 EPGame Over, which showcased self-reflection through electronic dance and disco sounds. Since its release, Benét has dropped a remix version of the EP, Game Over: Reloaded as well as last year’s singles “Will I See U?” and “Try.

Can I go again?
September 22nd, 2023
1. The Real Me
2. Missin’ Out
3. Overpowering
4. No Alarm
5. Things Change
6. Insensitive
7. Facts
8. If it Happens Again
9. Lose You
10. Try (Alt Version)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.