News, Reviews

Mandy, Indiana Share New Video “The Driving Rain (18)” & Announce UK Autumn Tour Dates

June 21, 2023
Photo credit: Harry Steel

MANDY, INDIANA

Share new video “The Driving Rain (18)”
UK tour dates this autumn announced
Debut album ‘i’ve seen a way’ out now via Fire Talk

Having recently released their debut album ‘i’ve seen a way’ via Fire Talk, Mandy, Indiana  — the thrilling Manchester-bred experimental noise quartet — are back with a new video for album standout track “The Driving Rain (18)”. The band have also announced an special London show on Feb 10th 2024 at Village Underground as well as a run of US tour dates for later this year. On top of this, they are also set to play UK festival shows this year including Latitude, Green Man & Standing Calling and will embark on a full UK tour throughout October and November too.

The video for “The Driving Rain (18)” was created by producer/guitarist Scott Fair using found anime clips. Built from a “simple ambient sketch and a drum machine loop” (The Quietus), the “neon-lit strut” (Brooklyn Vegan) of “The Driving Rain (18)” shows a different side to Mandy, Indiana.

The Driving Rain (18) meanders through this crypt of complex synth notes, warbling through the expressive landscape. The immense drum kit comes into play, focussing on this resonance bouncing off the kit into the world they’ve created, electronic percussive picks with the depth of the stirring synth loops. This is one of their most experimental explorations with the layered lo-fi harmonies gliding through the ominous essence.

Recorded in caves, crypts and shopping malls, i’ve seen a way is an exquisitely rendered debut, expertly twisting genre to channel the chaos of everyday life. Mandy, Indiana draw on a broad sonic palette of experimental noise and industrial electronics, with frontwoman Valentine Caulfield’s lyrics of fury and fairytales completing the band’s soundworld. Together, Caulfield, Fair, synthesist Simot Catling and drummer Alex Macdougall have generated a sound that is at once chaotic and precisely tuned. 

Order i’ve seen a way

Mandy, Indiana tour dates:
Sat. July 8 – Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival
Fri, July 14 – London, UK @ Sebright Arms (SOLD OUT)
Fri, July 21 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival
Sat, July 22 – Standon, UK @ Standon Calling Festival

Fri, Aug 4 – Tassov, CZ @ Beseda
Sat, Aug 5 – Katowice, PL @ OFF Festival
Sat, Aug 19 – Wales, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Oct. 27 – Salford, UK @ The White Hotel *
Sat. Oct. 28 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug and Pint * (SOLD OUT)
Sun. Oct. 29 – Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK @ Xerox *
Tue. Oct. 31 – Sheffield, UK @ Sidney & Matilda *
Wed. Nov. 1 – Bristol, UK @ Dareshack *
Thu. Nov. 2 – Brighton, UK @ The Green Door Store *
Fri. Nov. 3 – London, UK @ Corsica Studios * (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Nov. 4 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega Social *

Sun. Nov. 5 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg (Pitchfork Music Festival Berlin)
Sun. Nov. 29 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Victoria Warehouse Manchester
Sat. Dec. 2 – New York, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Thu. Dec. 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Fri. Dec. 8 – San Francisco, CA @ Popscene – Brick & Mortar
Sat. Feb 10 – London, UK @ Village Underground
* w/ Slap Rash

https://mandyindiana.bandcamp.com/

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.