Jon Hopkins Celebrating 10-year Anniversary Of Album Immunity –  Newly Remastered Digital Release Out Now With Remastered Vinyl & CD Release due October 6th

June 11, 2023
Photo credit: Steve Gullick

Jon Hopkins Celebrating 10-year Anniversary Of Album Immunity

 Newly Remastered Digital Release Out Now With Remastered Vinyl & CD Release due October 6th

Jon Hopkins celebrates the 10-year anniversary of album Immunity. To celebrate, a newly remastered version of the record is available to stream now. There will also be a special physical release on October 6th including the first-ever colour pressing of the album on vinyl.

A confident, dramatic record defined by an acute sense of physicality and place, Immunity felt and still feels, like the accompaniment to a journey of creativity, a trip inside Hopkins’ mind. It brought together everything he had learnt and experienced already but also paved the way for the evolution of his future records, most recently, 2021’s Music For Psychedelic Therapy.
Immunity was a turning point in Hopkins’ career. Previously, he had been an elusive character, known to most as an expert producer, Ivor Novello-nominated composer of film scores, remixer and long-term collaborator of Brian Eno and Coldplay. On its release in 2013, Immunity announced itself as a powerful, multi-faceted beast, packed with the most aggressively dancefloor-focussed music Hopkins had ever made. However, Immunity was never just about the techno behemoths – of which there were several. Hopkins wanted the album to help people to reach different states of mind. From graceful and mournful piano notes, stirring choral drones, he was always seeking new melodic routes to aid this. His tendency to use physical, real-world sounds as the basis for many of the album’s rhythms allowed him to craft one of the most human electronic albums of the decade.
Jon Hopkins: “Immunity was written between late 2010 and early 2012. I poured everything into it, taking so much care over every element. This record changed my life. I went from playing 500 cap venues to 5000 cap in less than a year. The whole thing was a whirlwind, and has since given me the freedom to follow any creative route that comes to me. Making and releasing it was a very special experience.
I have never had anything I’ve made remastered before, but had occasionally wondered if the loud mastering on Immunity is something I would still have done today. Guy Davie, who worked on the original, returned to the pre-masters, and we tried to do a slightly more subtle job. However, immediately it felt like it lost that sense of ‘pressure’ that I’ve come to realise is an important characteristic of the album, which is particularly present during the heavy tracks. I was suddenly wary of messing with it, creatively changing something that people were familiar with and that had become important to them. So we went back to the original settings, but added a subtle expander at the end to open it out a little. The result feels like it has a little more breathing space, whilst retaining the grit and intensity it always had. This re-master also gave us the opportunity to run it through Guy’s EMI desk at 96k for the first time.”

Hopkins will be returning to the Royal Albert Hall for a special show on August 29th, as part of this year’s BBC Proms. This involves a world premiere of his first ever composition for full orchestra and choir, alongside orchestral reinterpretations of the more meditative pieces from his albums, including Immunity. The concert will be in collaboration with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Symphony Chorus, the BBC Singers, and Creative Artist In Association, Jules Buckley.

Disc 1
1.     We Disappear – Remaster 2023
2.     Open Eye Signal – Remaster 2023
3.     Breathe This Air – Remaster 2023
4.     Collider – Remaster 2023
5.     Abandon Window – Remaster 2023
6.     Form By Firelight – Remaster 2023
7.     Sun Harmonics – Remaster 2023
8.     Immunity – Remaster 2023
Disc 2 (CD and download + download code with vinyl)
1.     Immunity (Asleep Version)
2.     Form by Firelight (Asleep Version)
3.     Breathe This Air (Asleep Version)
4.     Open Eye Signal (Asleep Version)
5.     Abandon Window (Moderat Remix)
6.     Breathe This Air (feat. Purity Ring)
7.     We Disappear (feat. Lulu James)
8.     Open Eye Signal (George Fitzgerald Remix)  
9.     Collider (Pangaea Remix)
The remastered Immunity is available to pre-order on purple vinyl and CD via Dom Mart here. Buy the digital version here.

Upcoming live dates
11th June – Parklife Festival, Manchester
18th June – Beyond the Pale, Wicklow
30th July – Gezgin Salon Festival, Istanbul
19th August – Field Day, London
29th August – BBC Proms @ Royal Albert Hall, London
30th September – Portola Festival, San Franciso, CA

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.