Feature, News, Reviews

Sorry Girls Share New Single “Aftermath” Taken From Forthcoming New Album “Bravo!” due June 2nd via Arbutus Records

April 16, 2023
Photo credit: Japhy Saretsky


Share new single “Aftermath”
New album ‘Bravo!’ due June 2nd via Arbutus Records

Montreal duo Sorry Girls, made up of Heather Foster Kirkpatrick and Dylan Konrad Obront, are set to  release their new album ‘Bravo!‘ on June 2nd via Arbutus Records. Following on from recent single “Prettier Things”, the band are now sharing their new track “Aftermath” – a powerful crystalline pop number. 

On the track, the band offered “‘Aftermath’ is a divine feminine rage anthem about processing grief and loss by reclaiming one’s voice.”

Sorry Girls create this intricate atmosphere that commands the listener’s attention, what starts with the sweeping melodies across the fragile landscape, giving off this almost 70’s vibrance tonality before that rich mirrored complexity adapts and shifts with this subtle disco reign and experimental rhythms, tentative upstrokes and this surge in energy moves the arrangement into this explosive placement. The vocal notes serenade the structure and the lyrics bring this expansion to the harmonies on offer throughout.

There is such a magical pull to the world of Sorry Girls, that magic laces their latest vision. Sorry Girls once again release a track that resonates with such purity. The immersive and honest arrangement is packed with their well-known of affection, bouncing from the lyrics that immediately connect with the audience and powerfully alter their own moods.

Sorry Girls have danced out of the darkness into the light. Since forming in 2015, the Montreal duo of Heather Foster Kirkpatrick and Dylan Konrad Obront transformed an eerie, dreamlike sound into lush, pleasure seeking pop. Expanding upon their debut album, Deborah, which Pitchfork described as “more John Hughes than David Lynch,”the band’s deftly arranged sophomore LP, Bravo!, sings to the back rows of the stadium, drawing listeners inward with a newfound focus on personal lyrics. 

“These songs are all about self-acceptance, self-affirmation, personal freedom, and letting go,” says Kirkpatrick. “There are a lot of lyrics about the creative process itself, identity shaping, and how those things intertwine.” 

The duo first became friends while studying at Concordia and dipping their toes into the Montreal music scene, though neither had played in bands before Sorry Girls. Kirkpatrick says their first songs were guided by “a sense of discovery,” and that by “not trying to make something concrete,” they continue to thrive without goals. After working with TOPS’ David Carriere on their debut, Sorry Girls linked up with Braids drummer Austin Tufts, who played on the songs of Bravo! and pulled double duty as its mixing engineer.Another first-time collaborator was fellow Arbutus Records artist Mitch Davis, whose saxophone shimmers throughout the album. 

Ironically, Obront and Kirkpatrick came together in the songwriting process by physically splitting themselves apart. After touring with Devon Welsh in 2019, the duo lived together during the beginning of the pandemic, yet only reignited a creative spark after moving into their own apartments. “We’ve always made our demos separately, with Dylan writing an instrumental and then me singing over it,” explains Kirkpatrick. “This time we made a conscious effort to write and record the album together from the ground up.” Despite the fact that each contributing musician was recorded on their lonesome – either in their homes, or at Braids’ Toute Garnie studio – Sorry Girls have never sounded more like a live band.

With each subsequent release, Sorry Girls’ influences have evolved alongside their music. The duo’s 2016 debut EP, Awesome Secrets, was inspired by classic artists such as Fleetwood Mac, Roy Orbison, or Twin Peaks composer Angelo Badalamenti, obscuring timeless melodies in a hazy fog of synths. Bravo! builds upon these reference points and brings them into the present, with influences ranging from Carole King to Perfume Genius. The dramatic sound of “Sorcery” borrows a few tricks from Talk Talk, while “The Exiles” is Sorry Girls’ attempt at a Springsteen anthem, complete with their own Clarence Clemons.

For “Enough Is Enough”, Kirkpatrick cites an unlikely inspiration: Shania Twain. “We just wanted to make a country breakup song, and this is what came out,” she says. Propelled by a slinky disco groove, “Prettier Things” contains similarly empowering subject matter. “It’s another breakup song that’s about honesty, not lying to yourself, and hiding behind prettier truths,” says Kirkpatrick. “You can allow yourself to move onto better things, if that’s what you need.” 

The album delves most directly into its theme of self-discovery on first single “Breathe,” a meditative song about slowing down in order to move forward. “That song is about the feeling of freedom and getting to know yourself on a deeper level,” concludes Kirkpatrick. “It’s about releasing limiting beliefs and how those chase you for your whole life before you can move onto a new path. In the end, Bravo! is an album about celebration and fun.”

See Sorry Girls live:

01-09 | Montreal, QC | L’escogriffe
02-09 | Brooklyn, NY | Baby’s All Right
08-09 | Detroit, MI | UFO Factory 
09-09 | Chicago, IL | Golden Dagger
10-09 | Minneapolis, MN | Underground Music Venue
15-09 | Vancouver, BC | The Cobalt
18-09 | Seattle, WA | Madame Lou’s
22-09 | Los Angeles, CA | Moroccan Lounge
24-09 | San Diego, CA | Soda Bar
06-10 | Toronto, ON | Monarch Tavern 
Tickets: https://arbutusrecords.com/pages/tour-dates

Bravo! tracklist:
1. Parade
2. Breathe
3. Prettier Things
4. The Exiles
5. Aftermath
6. Pillar of Salt
7. Used to Be
8. Sorcery 
9. The Wait
10. Enough
11. Otherside
12. If you’re done I’m done



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.