News, Reviews

Helen Money & Will Thomas Announce Debut Collaborative Album “Trace” due 12th May via Thrill Jockey Records

March 4, 2023

Helen Money & Will Thomas Announce Debut Collaborative Album
Due out 12th May 2023

Helen Money, aka unparalleled cellist and composer Alison Chesley, and composer/producer Will Thomas are announcing their debut collaborative album, Trace, out May 12, 2023. Having worked together in a variety of formats over the past, Trace marks their first fully collaborative effort, synthesizing their myriad skills as songwriters, performers, and sound artists into vivid, profoundly moving music. Along with the album announcement, the duo have shared the first single “Thieves.” The gripping piece applies a jittering rhythmic pulse and sampled cello harmonics that tug forward anxiously before distorted cello thrusts transform the piece into something more resolute.

Helen Money has been making boundaryless music for nearly three decades. From her work in Verbow to her solo releases, collaborations with Jarboe and Steve Albini to her work as a highly sought after session and backup player spanning every stretch of the rock spectrum, Chesley has remained a singular voice and a pioneer in expanding the potential of her instrument. Will Thomas, a frequent collaborator with Chesley, is a composer and producer with a similarly varied career, from his work composing for commercials, TV, and film for over 20 years, to his collaborations with Roger Eno, to sight-specific sound installations. The collaboration between Helen Money and Will Thomas has endured across solo albums and soundtracks alike with the power of their compositions deeping as they push one another to greater heights.

Helen Money and Will Thomas are masters of invoking emotional atmospheres. Their music paints in vivid hues with outlines blurred, often using dense layers of processed instruments and textural ambience as a backdrop for harmonic tension and melodic bliss alike. Trace is thrillingly cinematic. Each piece tells a compelling story through ratcheting suspense, twisting shifts, unfurling arcs, and blissful repose. “I don’t compose with a storyline in mind,” says Chesley. “I search for a feeling – a sound. It’s often not until the very end of the process that I realize what I was trying to express.”

This collaboration is set to enthrall. This intense exploration just dropped which allows this dark, destructive feel to manifest throughout the experimental journey. “Thieves” is a very emotionally charged complex orchestration that emits this array of brooding affection and stirring tones. The textures take an abrasive, robust turn and this allows the atmosphere to remain intense. The gritty landscape weaves this lasting imprint.

Helen Money/Will Thomas by Jim Newberry

Helen Money/Will Thomas – Trace tracklist
1. Someone Out There
2. Thieves
3. Half Asleep
4. Boulevard in Silence
5. Abandon
6. Trace
7. She Never Suspected
8. Half Awake
9. Tilt
10. Glass Shattered
11. The Wheel

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.