Quasi Share New Single “Nowheresville” Taken From Their Sub Pop Debut “Breaking The Balls Of History” out 10th February

January 11, 2023
Press credit John Clark

Quasi Share New Single “Nowheresville”

Taken From Their Sub Pop Debut “Breaking The Balls Of History out 10th February

Sullen the Gorilla takes a solitary hike through “Nowheresville,” the official video and new single from Quasi’s Breaking the Balls of History, the duo’s tenth album and label debut for Sub Pop

Breaking the Balls of History will be available on CD/LP/CS/DSPs on February 10th, 2023. The album features twelve tracks and was produced by Quasi and John Goodmanson (Sleater-Kinney, Bikini Kill, Unwound, Treepeople, Team Dresch) at Rob Lang Studios in Seattle, engineered and mixed by Goodmanson, and mastered by Bill Skibbe at Third Man Mastering. 

Quasi brings this bright, cutting composition to life with ardent textures and gritty notes. Rolling drum shuffles and this jarring yet addictive rhythmic loop assist with the explosive landscape, but the vocal harmonies just collide and consume the audience. One punchy track!

Quasi’s Breaking the Balls of History, featuring the aforementioned “Nowheresville,” along with the official videos for “Doomscrollers” and “Queen of Ears,” is seeing early praise from the likes of Brooklyn Vegan, who say, “[Queen Of Ears] has all the Quasi earmarks: pointed lyrics, jagged melodies, skronky organ, bashing drums, and Sam & Janet’s distinctive harmonies.” Stereogum says “Lead single “Queen Of Ears” finds Coomes and Weiss bashing away on their keyboard and drums, respectively, lending a raw edge to an otherwise bright and poppy song. The backing vocals are clutch on this one.”

Meanwhile, of “Doomscrollers,” MOJO offers this, “Janet Weiss and Sam Coomes here switch on all their chaotic McCartney/Malkmus energy for a state-of-the-planet address.” Finally, Shindig! calls “Doomscrollers” “A punchy blend of state-of-things stream of consciousness and melodic brightness signals the much-awaited return of Pacific Northwest legends Quasi.”

Breaking the Balls of History can be preordered now from Sub Pop. LP preorders from and select independent retailers in North Americathe UK, and Europe will receive the limited Loser edition on pink vinyl.


1. Last Long Laugh

2. Back in Your Tree

3. Queen of Ears

4. Gravity

5. Shitty Is Pretty

6. Riots & Jokes

7. Breaking the Balls of History

8. Doomscrollers

9. Inbetweenness

10. Nowheresville

11. Rotten Wrock

12. The Losers Win

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.