Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Rogue Jones Release New Single “Triongl Dyfed” Out Now via Libertino Records & Announce Sophomore Album “Dos Bebés” Due 3rd March 2023

November 18, 2022

Rogue Jones Release New Single “Triongl Dyfed” Out Now via Libertino Records

& Announce Sophomore Album “Dos Bebés” Due 3rd March 2023

Rogue Jones have released their new single “Triongl Dyfed” which is out now via Libertino Records. Days after dropping the new track, the duo have shared details of their forthcoming sophomore album expected in Spring next year. Rogue Jones consists of Bethan Mai and Ynyr Morgan Ifan and the new single is destined to enchant.

Triongl Dyfed’ (The Dyfed Triangle), was the name for the area of west Wales in which there were multiple UFO sightings in the 1970s and 1980s. The central concept of the song is an imagined conspiracy theory that the Meibion Glyndwr holiday cottage arson attacks were carried out by aliens.

Mostly sung from the point of view of the extra-terrestrials – the song borrows from ‘Mae Gen i Het Tri Chornel’ an old welsh nursery rhyme, quotes 70s rockers Edward H Dafis’ hit ‘Mae’n Braf Cael Byw Mewn Tŷ Haf’ (‘It’s nice to live in a holiday home’) and name-checks the legendary singer and actor Bryn Fôn, who was falsely arrested on suspicion of being a member of Meibion Glyndwr, as well as Owain Glyndŵr himself. Both Edward H and Bryn Fôn were extremely accommodating in allowing the band to reference them – Owain Glyndŵr’s silence on the matter is deafening.

As with the whole album, it was recorded in Tŷ Drwg Studios, Grangetown with Frank Naughton and features appearances from Llŷr Parri on drums and Harri Rees on clarinet with everything else performed by Bethan and Ynyr.

We believe that the second home crisis in Wales is completely out of hand we believe that government should intervene to prevent house prices from rising so dramatically and to allow young people who grew up in the area to buy an affordable home where they live” said the band.

We must stress that the track is about aliens coming down from outer space to burn holiday homes, intrigued? hit play.

The new single commences with the soundbite that focuses on this intense touch, lifted with the ominous layers beginning to sculpt the ambiance. With a direct hit and a sprightly animated lyrical touch, this countdown brings fierce elements and dominating deep vocal tones to emerge and center to the focal point of the release. The tonality and textures are mixed with such attention to detail that the audience embraces the expressive nature immediately.

As the single proceeds, the release develops an array of addictive attributes, hypnotic rhythms lace the vision and loop into the atmosphere, and this is when the obsessive characteristics shine. The energy of this ensemble distinguishes itself as vivid and essential. When the dual harmonies unite there is a shift in that energy, adding a playful twist to the release whilst emphasizing the intensity with the punchier vocal tones shining in the mix.

Dos Bebés Track Listing: 

1. Triongl Dyfed

2. Off By One

3. Englynion Angylion

4. Babette

5. Fflachlwch Bach

6. 1, 2, 3

7. 155 bpm

8. Y Tad, Y Mab a’r Ysbryd Glân

9. Lemonade

10. Gwaed

11. R Williams Parry


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.