Dutch Uncles Share New Single “True Entertainment” & Announce New Album “True Entertainment” due March 10th 2023 via Memphis Industries

November 8, 2022
Photo credit: Oliver Sangster

Dutch Uncles

Share New Single “True Entertainment”

Announce New Album True Entertainment due March 10th 2023
via Memphis Industries

Announce UK Headline Tour for 2023

Dutch Uncles, Manchester’s much-revered electro-art rock quartet, announce details of their long-awaited sixth album, True Entertainment (released March 10, 2023 on Memphis Industries).

The title was a DJ name bestowed upon vocalist Duncan Wallis by guitarist Peter Broadhead. Wallis, an in-demand DJ and compare in his native city, wrote the acid house and Sign O’ The Times-era Prince-influenced title track and lead single when reflecting on the awkwardness he sometimes feels when he’s recognised as the singer in a band while working one of his many public-facing jobs.

“True Entertainment” debuted via the While You Were Sleeping feature on the BBC Radio 6 Music Breakfast Show and the music video, shot at Droylsden Working Men’s Club, is available now.

Dutch Uncles are back with their dazzling new arrangement which has united their fans and showcased their abilities to create one lasting ensemble.

Interestingly, the video features a live vocal taped on set and mixed with the studio recording, intended as an homage to the art of live entertainment.

I know too well myself the mountainous task these poor sods have, and the mental gymnastics required to envision it being remotely successful, so in a way, this pays tribute to the craft. I was determined to fashion a goatee beard for the shoot, to separate myself from the character – it is a character. But I was mortified to see myself in the gold suit, immediately understanding Elvis’ pain.” – Duncan Wallis on “True Entertainment”

When I was researching Elvis’ gold suit, I found that he actually really hated it and only wore it two or three times. I think the idea of a job that’s meant to bring joy to people’s hearts being really tiring – and sometimes even hateful – really intriguing. I think people can relate to that.” – Nick Middleton (video director) on “True Entertainment”

Dutch Uncles have also announced a UK tour for April 2023 in support of True Entertainment, which includes headline dates at The Garage, London (21st April) and at the new Canvas venue in their hometown of Manchester (22nd April).

True Entertainment will be released March 10 on Memphis Industries and is available to preorder on “millstone” yellow vinyl, standard black and CD HERE. Tickets for their 2023 dates are on sale now.

Dutch Uncles live 2023
15 April – Sunderland, Pop Recs
16 April – Bristol, Thekla
19 April – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
20 April – Brighton, Patterns
21 April – London, The Garage
22 April – Manchester, Canvas
27 April – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

Taking inspiration from Yellow Magic Orchestra, Steely Dan, Ennio Morricone, The Blue Nile, Kate Bush and Roxy Music, “True Entertainment behaves like it knows it’s been away for some time, and doesn’t apologise for that,” jokes vocalist and lyricist Duncan Wallis. “Ultimately, it’s written with the mindset that on our sixth album, we’re only in competition with ourselves when it comes to finding satisfaction in our craft.”

True to this mantra, True Entertainment bears some of the most delightfully fun Dutch Uncles music to date; paired with some of their most existential and introspective lyrics. What is success? Am I enough? How can I better? (and can I even afford to be better?).

While Robin Richards remains Dutch Uncles’ principle composer, the lockdowns of 2020 and 2021 prompted other members to contribute musical ideas: the result being their most collaborative album to date. ­­Friends, Jonathan Higgs (of Everything Everything) and Anna Prior (of Metronomy) were recruited as guest vocalists on future singles.

This is evidenced further by Henry Broadhead and Neil Wright (live synth player and live guitarist, respectively) stepping up to production duties alongside the band themselves. Henry Broadhead also mixed the album with Andrew Proudfoot, and it was mastered by Matt Colton (Pet Shop Boys, Christine and the Queens et al).

True Entertainment is the long-awaited follow-up to Big Balloon (2017), an album that spawned three playlisted singles on BBC Radio 6 Music and enjoyed widespread acclaim from the likes of Uncut (“a high flying triumph” 8/10), The Guardian (“its songs barge in with urgency” 4*), The Quietus, DIY, Exclaim!, Q, Under the Radar and many, many more.

Dutch Uncles are Andrew Proudfoot (the drums), Duncan Wallis (vocals and piano), Robin Richards (bass) and Peter Broadhead (guitar, synth and electronics). They are joined live by Henry Broadhead (synth and percussion) and Neil Wright (guitar).

Dutch Uncles
True Entertainment
March 10, 2023
Out via Memphis Industries

1. True Entertainment
2. Damascenes
3. Tropigala (2 to 5)
4. Poppin’
5. Exit Row
6. I’m Not Your Dad
7. Deep End
8. In Salvia
9. End Belief
10. Dead Letter

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.