News, Reviews

Frankie Cosmos Shares Video For “Empty Head” – New Album Out This Friday via Sub Pop

October 18, 2022
Photo credit: Pooneh Ghana 


Share The Official Video For “Empty Head”

Inner World Peace due 21st October 2022 through Sub Pop

This Friday, October 21st, 2022, Frankie Cosmos will release their new record, Inner World Peace via Sub Pop. In celebration of the album’s release, the group has shared their latest video for “Empty Head”, a new offering from the album. 

This song “is about wishing for inner peace, and conversely: spiraling” shares frontperson Greta Kline. “It’s about self-control, and the fear of unlocking myself and overflowing. It’s also about finding joy in small moments – walking in circles, hoping to see the neighbor’s dog. I’m so happy we got to work with Sophia Bennett Holmes again for this music video (I last worked with her in 2014 on the “Art School” video). I love the concept Sophia came up with – it tells it’s own story that fits in with the story of the song, but also takes it somewhere else. To me, the video is about blossoming because of a chill perspective (once I stop trying to jump into flight, I lift off the ground with ease); and then letting go of the need to be perceived, and instead disappearing and floating into the sunset. It perfectly captures the way meditation works – that once you stop focusing and trying too hard, it comes naturally.”

This vivid landscape creates with ease through the gentle keys and the resonating tones, the baritone notes emerge but the fixation on the gentle vocal notes portrays this affectionate mark throughout the ensemble before this abrupt dynamic shit explodes. The instrumentation unites and ups the tempo, immediately the energy alters and the melody moves you. Frankie Cosmos drops yet another exhilarating piece with this lasting effect, prepared to be dazzled by this must-hear record set to drop just days away.

Inner World Peace will be available on October 21st, 2022 on CD/LP/CS/DSPs worldwide from Sub Pop. The album, which features the standout tracks “F.O.O.F.”, “Aftershook,” “One Year Stand,” and “Empty Head”. It was co-produced by Frankie Cosmos, Nate Mendelsohn, and Katie Von Schleicher at Figure 8 Recording in Brooklyn, New York, mixed by Mendelsohn and Von Schleicher, and mastered by Josh Bonati at Bonati Mastering. The Inner World Peace album art also features illustrations from band member Lauren Martin.

Inner World Peace is available for preorder now from Sub Pop. LP preorders from, select independent retailers in North Americathe UK and Europe, will receive the album on crystal clear vinyl (while supplies last).

Frankie Cosmos
Inner World Peace

1. Abigail
2. Aftershook
3. Fruit Stand
4. Magnetic Personality
5. Wayne
6. Sky Magnet
7. A Work Call
8. Empty Head
9. Fragments
10. Prolonging Babyhood
11. One Year Stand
12. F.O.O.F.
13. Street View
14. Spare the Guitar
15. Heed the Call

Album Preorder:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.