Feature, News, Reviews

Sorry Share New Single & Video “Key To The City”- Taken From Forthcoming Second Album “Anywhere But Here”out October 7th 

September 7, 2022


Share brand new single & video “Key To The City”

Taken from hotly-anticipated second album Anywhere But Here – out October 7th 

Announce instore tour + New UK, North American & European headline dates 

North London’s Sorry have today shared their new single and video “Key To The City”. The single received its first airplay from BBC Radio 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq and will feature on their hugely-anticipated second album Anywhere But Here – out October 7th  on Domino.  

Commenting on new single “Key To The City”, which is again accompanied by a FLASHA directed video, Asha says: “‘Key to the City’ is a song that stemmed from a very specific situation in my life but that I hope has a more universal resonance. It’s meant as a kind of tender “fuck you” at the dying moment of a relationship you don’t necessarily want to end – when it’s hard to reconcile feelings of anger, jealousy, resentment etc with the undeniable love you still have for that person. That crossover of pride and vulnerability led me to an image of a deer in the headlights. It’s about trying your hardest to retain control when you know you’re exposed emotionally, sexually, spiritually, everything. In the nude of the headlights, in the nude of someone’s love.” 

Asha continues: “The song came together after the original recording session and stemmed from Louis experimenting with new tunings to give us a bit of a push. This one has a Nick Drake feel. We wanted it to sound cinematic and lonely.” 

Sorry are ready to captivate all with their forthcoming record, already showcasing this expressive and dynamic range with all the tracks they’ve shared to date. With “Key To The City”, Sorry allow emotion to direct the journey whilst still keeping their renowned immersive energy and impressive amount of hooks and earworms. A softer vision on their behalf, capturing this intimate beauty that cascades throughout, growing in power and keeping the listener fixated on the affectionate voyage. This raw and cutting ensemble allows Sorry to break out with this progressed and chiseled songwriting form, addictive qualities from start to finish.

Anywhere But Here is the band’s first full body of work since the Twixtustwain EP arrived last year, alongside the official digital release of their brace of 2017 mixtapes Home Demo/ns Vol I. and Home Demo/ns Vol. II. Sorry’s universally-acclaimed debut album 925 earned a string of near-perfect review scores, A-List national radio playlistings and global media profiles upon its release in March 2020. 
Anywhere But Here
 was largely produced by the band’s Louis O’Bryen and Asha Lorenz, and Ali Chant along with Portishead’s Adrian Utley in Bristol. While Charlie Andrew co-produced “Key To The City” and the album’s lead single “Let The Lights On” (which was A-Listed by 6 Music recently) with Louis and Asha.

Sorry recently completed a run of support dates with Sleaford Mods in the US (as well as their own LA headline show in April), and a headline UK tour in June, which included a hometown show at London’s Jazz Cafe. The band will tour the UK and North America from October to December; playing their biggest headline show to date in London on November 2nd at Electric Brixton. The band have also announced European dates in February and March. 

See Sorry UK live in 2022:

6 Oct | Banquet, Kingston 

7 Oct | Resident, Brighton 

8 Oct | Pie & Vinyl, Southsea (matinée) 

8 Oct | Rough Trade, Bristol 

9 Oct | Truck, Oxford (matinée) 

9 Oct | Relevant, Cambridge 

10 Oct | Rough Trade East, London 

25 Oct | Chalk, Brighton 

26 Oct | Metronome, Nottingham 

27 Oct | Brudenell Social Club, Leeds 

28 Oct | Stereo, Glasgow 

29 Oct | Academy 2, Dublin 

31 Oct | Fleece, Bristol 

1 Nov | White Hotel, Manchester 

2 Nov | Electric Brixton, London 

Tickets are available here

Anywhere But Here is  available on 12″ vinyl (with a limited version featuring gatefold sleeve, neon green and transparent green vinyl options, 4-page lyric booklet, A2 fold-out illustrations poster), CD, cassette & digitally. Pre-order:  Dom Mart | Digital 


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.