News, Reviews

Girlpuppy Shares Video For “Destroyer”- Debut Album “When I’m Alone” due 28th October via Royal Mountain Records

September 20, 2022
Photo credit: Brandon McClain


Shares video for ‘Destroyer’

Debut album When I’m Alone due 28th October via Royal Mountain Records

girlpuppy’s (aka Becca Harvey) highly-anticipated debut LP When I’m Alone is due out on the 28th October via Royal Mountain Records, her second release on the label following 2021’s Swan EP, a five song collection that drew remarkable acclaim from outlets like NPR, FADER, Paste, Under The Radar, Coup De Main, Office Magazine, i-D, The Line of Best Fit and NYLON who called her “one of indie folk’s most promising newcomers.”

Produced with Slow Pulp member Henry Stoehr and Alex G guitarist Sam Acchione, girlpuppy’s debut has seen two single released so far “Wish” and “I Want To Be There”, and now Harvey is sharing a third single, a track called “Destroyer” that was inspired by a popular Taylor Jenkins Reid novel.

“I wrote this song in Philadelphia after reading the novel Daisy Jones and The Six”, Harvey explains. “There’s one part of the book where the character Billy Dunne considers kissing a woman outside of his marriage. He acknowledges that if he decided to make that one small decision it would ruin everything else about his life. I consider this kind of thing “The Destroyer,” the one thing you do that could ruin everything else. It’s a song about me also having that opportunity, but deciding against it. It was the first song that producer Sam Acchione and I felt really solid about. (In fact, it’s the song that made me know that Sam would be the perfect producer for When I’m Alone.)”

A stirring sensation grips the audience, the rippling notes and resonating tones with the quick-paced rhthms loop this intensive and mesmeric motion. Ontop of that striking passage, the delicate and far-reaching consuming vocal harmonies from Girlpuppy, affectionate and angelic, the audience focuses on the lyrics that glide with the compelling notions of this immersive ensemble. Another moving melody that becomes somewhat infectious.

Track List
1. Final Girl
2. Wish
3. Teenage Dream
4. Swallow
5. Somewhere
6. I Want To Be There
7. Denver
8. Revenant
9. Emma Marie
10. Destroyer
11. When I’m Alone
12. Permanent State

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.