News, Reviews

Frankie Cosmos Shares New Single & Video “Aftershook” – New Album “Inner World Peace” out 21st October via Sub Pop

September 7, 2022
Photo credit: Pooneh Ghana


Shares New Single & Video “Aftershook”

New Album “Inner World Peace” out 21st October via Sub Pop

A morning trip to the corner coffee spot becomes disorienting and hairy in the new Frankie Cosmos video for “Aftershook,” from filmmaker Andy Rose Fidoten. The song is from Inner World Peace, the group’s forthcoming new album.
Greta offers this on the song, “‘Aftershook’ is about processing the past, and grappling with maintaining a balanced ratio of emotional awareness and hopefulness. The clown represents my fear of growing up into the kind of stunted adult that toxically influenced my youth.”

As for the “Aftershook” video, Greta says, “Lauren had the basic idea for this music video, and we liked it for this song because it has a sort of spooky vibe to it. I love where Andy and their team took it because it feels like it’s about grappling with one’s sense of self/reality, and searching for one’s place in the world/community.”

A truly mighty release that blows the audience away. Hypnotized on the alternating time signatures, tempos, and explosive vocal range on offer throughout, “Aftershook” will keep you committed to the journey. A bittersweet ensemble, with this fierce energy that devours the ambiance. The vocal notes offer this softer touch whilst exploring the imaginative lyrics causing friction against the intense instrumentation, angular and ready to adjust the direction at any given moment. This unpredictable voyage ricochets the audience further into the vital atmosphere.

Frankie Cosmos will release Inner World Peace, their fifth album, on October 21st, 2022 on CD/LP/CS/DSPs worldwide from Sub Pop. The album, which features the aforementioned “Aftershook,” along with standouts “One Year Stand,” “F.O.O.F.”, and “Empty Head,” was co-produced by Frankie Cosmos, Nate Mendelsohn, and Katie Von Schleicher at Figure 8 Recording in Brooklyn, New York, mixed by Mendelsohn and Von Schleicher, and mastered by Josh Bonati at Bonati Mastering. The Inner World Peace album art also features illustrations from band member Lauren Martin.

Inner World Peace is available for preorder now from Sub Pop. LP preorders from, select independent retailers in North Americathe UK and Europe, will receive the album on crystal clear vinyl (while supplies last).

Frankie Cosmos
Inner World Peace

1. Abigail
2. Aftershook
3. Fruit Stand
4. Magnetic Personality
5. Wayne
6. Sky Magnet
7. A Work Call
8. Empty Head
9. Fragments
10. Prolonging Babyhood
11. One Year Stand
12. F.O.O.F.
13. Street View
14. Spare the Guitar
15. Heed the Call

Album Preorder:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.